Michigan State University "flexible hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Michigan State University Reviews

Updated Feb 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
87%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Michigan State University President Samuel Stanley Jr.
Samuel Stanley Jr.
29 Ratings
  1. "Student Supervisor- Night Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Michigan State University part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, fun coworkers and pretty good faculty supervisor

    Cons

    no real downsides to working where I studied

    Michigan State University2017-05-19
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan State University part-time

    Pros

    Great people and flexible hours

    Cons

    There have been none of note since I have been here.

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University2017-04-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "College of Nursing Research Assistant (office)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in East Lansing, MI

    I worked at Michigan State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible hours - Amazing letters of rec - Great mentors - Ability to learn many office related skills I worked as research staff for one of the College of Nursing professors for two years. I was compensated fairly, received two raises/promotions, and learned finance, grant-writing, and research skills. Great place to work, great work environmnt

    Cons

    - Could be boring at times - Wasn't able to be full time due to the cost of paying benefits

    Michigan State University2017-03-30
  4. "Professorial Assistantship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Michigan State University

    Pros

    Got to work with a professor with their research. Flexible hours depending on who you work with. Great campus

    Cons

    Pay wasn't amazing, around 10$/hour

    Michigan State University2017-02-28
  5. "Writing Center Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at Michigan State University

    Pros

    Able to hone editing and presentation skills. Great for future teachers or writers. Semi-flexible hours. Opportunities to dabble in a wide range of projects and skills.

    Cons

    Very disorganized due to wanting to erase hierarchy and be a 'free-flowing' place to work. However, this left everything disjointed and major accountability issues. They were trying to crack down when I left. Have a habit of trying to 'bleed' time from employees and guilt into working on committees. Should the committees be run more efficiently, there wouldn't be last minute deadlines forcing people to work all-nighters.

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University2017-02-19
  6. "Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Undergraduate Research Assistant in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan State University

    Pros

    Flexible hours, interesting research, Boss very helpful and understanding

    Cons

    Limited in contributions to research papers

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University2017-01-14
  7. "Entomology Lab Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours during the semester Friendly and helpful staff

    Cons

    Parking on campus has been an issue for me, I have resorted to biking or walking

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University2017-01-08
  8. "Campus Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Michigan State University

    Pros

    Great environment, everyone is really inviting and there is flexible hours.

    Cons

    The pay can be a bit low for certain types of work.

    Michigan State University2017-01-02
  9. "Usher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Michigan State University

    Pros

    They allowed for very flexible hours. It is a perfect job for current college students. Plus, part of the job is watching the events within the center.

    Cons

    The pay was not very high but that's expected with a job that has very high turn over and little room to advance.

    Michigan State University2016-11-18
  10. "Desk Reception"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Michigan State University

    Pros

    Friendly environment, flexible hours, can do some studying

    Cons

    Can be difficult to re schedule things

    Michigan State University2016-11-07
Found 81 reviews