Michigan State University "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Michigan State University Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jan 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Michigan State University President Samuel Stanley Jr.
Samuel Stanley Jr.
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no cons to my experience(in 37 reviews)

  • "All while getting relatively low pay for your education(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Transfers books around campus, assists students with selections"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Librarian 

    I worked at Michigan State University part-time

    Pros

    Nice work environment to progress

    Cons

    Not many hours available for students

    Michigan State University2019-11-13
  2. "Good Student Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Service Assistant 

    I worked at Michigan State University part-time

    Pros

    If you're a student (in my experience) they work around your schedule. Generally good work environment.

    Cons

    Have heard that rescheduling is difficult during prime days off.

    Michigan State University2020-01-06
  3. "Sink or Swim"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Michigan State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot about bioinformatics within the Plant Department at MSU Free Lunches, friendly working environment, and constant feedback on what I was doing.

    Cons

    I felt alone at times where everyone leaves to go to specific conferences, it felt sink or swim during those times where I was stuck in the pipeline

    Michigan State University2019-11-14
  4. "Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student Custodian 

    I have been working at Michigan State University part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment and great people

    Cons

    Third shift only which was hard to go to early classes

    Michigan State University2019-10-23
  5. "College of Engineering - Respect your support staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Technician in East Lansing, MI

    I have been working at Michigan State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good hours, great boss, comfortable work environment

    Cons

    Higher ups aren't planning for the future, enrolling more and more students without budgeting for the increased load of technicians and other support staff. When senior technicians retire (soon) the college is going to be scrambling to keep labs, classes, and research functional, let alone running smoothly.

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University2019-09-11
  6. "No benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in East Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Michigan State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, clean, and safe working environment.

    Cons

    Very strict on break times, worked in culinary services. Bad pay and they have on-call schedule where you get random hours. No benefits for on-call/part time team members.

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University2019-08-05
  7. "Postdoctoral researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate 

    I have been working at Michigan State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment - High-quality research

    Cons

    No retirement - Lack of diversity of races

    Michigan State University2019-07-31
  8. "Relaxed work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool, relaxed work environment on campus.

    Cons

    Not the best benefit/compensation. Big company = slow pace.

    Michigan State University2019-05-17
  9. "it was awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Michigan State University part-time

    Pros

    great work environment and great people

    Cons

    kinda weird work environment kinda weird people. just kidding its tight

    Michigan State University2019-04-25
  10. "Flexible work time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Research Assistant in East Lansing, MI

    I have been working at Michigan State University for less than a year

    Pros

    good working environment and good help

    Cons

    Its better if everyone gets equal treatment

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University2019-04-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 96 reviews