Micro Focus Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Micro Focus Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Micro Focus CEO Stephen Murdoch
Stephen Murdoch
29 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SaaS Operations Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great People, good benefits, comfortable hours.

    Cons

    Going through some complicated time due to the merge with HPE Software,

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    Micro Focus2019-03-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "So much potential...wasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is so much potential in our software solutions - with the individual products, solutions areas, and the company portfolio as a whole. We truly have great stuff to offer our customers! We should be absolutely killing it in the market.

    Cons

    The leadership in this company has no idea what is broken. We are not on a path to succeed. Issues are always blamed on "the disruption of the merger", but we all know (the people who do the work) that the biggest issues are lack of real leadership and no ability to execute on the basics. The corporate marketing org is one of the best examples of that. A lot of people are in roles that they shouldn't be in and they... make poor decisions because of their lack of knowledge/experience (most often no decisions at all are made which is even worse). I do my best every day, but Micro Focus is a very frustrating place to work for those of us who want to be part of something great.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Many of us feel like we are being set up to fail. We have poor leadership and people in roles that they don't belong in. Your leaders do not strive for success or inspire other - it seems like many are OK with being simply mediocre. Yes, sales is an issue but the problems are so much larger than sales - marketing (especially around campaigns and the website) is an absolute travesty, IT support never responds, HR is... not helpful, anything around the channel is neglected, our development teams are terrible, etc. Please start questioning the rosy picture that you are being given by those who work for you and actually dig in to find the real issues. Most of the good people I work with at Micro Focus are frustrated and looking to leave.

    Show More
    Micro Focus2019-10-18
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Salary review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Cambridge, MA

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have remote and wfh options if you are not based out of California

    Cons

    After the merger everything went downhill with stock crashes CEO / VP stepping down / leaving the company . Worked overtime no compensation paid and massive layoffs

    Advice to Management

    Care for your employees

    Micro Focus2019-07-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    decent pay and bonus plan

    Cons

    total chaos environment, bad systems and clueless managers

    Micro Focus2019-05-30

    Micro Focus Response

    June 10, 2019HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that you feel Micro Focus is in chaos. We’re going through a period of integration, which comes with intense change and we recognise this can be unsettling. We have many programmes in place to tackle these changes and there’s progress being made, but we also need to do more on our side to share with colleagues what’s being done, so that the feelings of chaos and manager’s not always having the full information are addressed. We’ re also working on sharing more of this information directly with team members.

    Show Less
  5. "Micro Focus work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steady, stable company with a primary focus on ROI. Increasing lead against competitors in NPS on a variety of fronts.

    Cons

    Not innovative. Maniacal focus on cost controls. Integration with Hewlett Packard Enterprise systems/people from 2017 merger continues to be a painful process internally.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the internal systems

    Micro Focus2019-05-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "it's a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work from home, it's a job

    Cons

    no room for salary increase or promotion, no matter what you do. constant WFRs, best people leave, too much focus on acqusitions

    Advice to Management

    quit acquiring and focus on the product

    Micro Focus2019-02-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Pieces don't fit together"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    National Account Manager in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and work life balance is decent

    Cons

    Disfunctional product set and the UK runs the show.

    Advice to Management

    Americans aren't stupid.

    Micro Focus2019-01-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Solid, safe company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager 

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home/work life balance (flexibility)

    Cons

    Required to be in same locale as team Lacking employee loyalty

    Micro Focus2019-01-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Safe place to work, job security.

    Cons

    Too easy, you will not learn about business here. Couldn't grow, needed to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Use the talent you have. Provo Utah has great people who are only customer service at this point where they once were sales professionals.

    Micro Focus2018-12-10
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Management disconnected from reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Still has a (shrinking) office in Sunnyvale at least Still some good people left at company, but dwindling

    Cons

    Management is truly selfish and actively dislikes California employees from their redoubt in UK

    Advice to Management

    Stop deluding yourselves - you cannot compete on talent or product with any companies in your categories

    Micro Focus2018-12-20
Found 93 reviews