Micro Focus Reviews | Glassdoor

Micro Focus Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 958 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Micro Focus CEO Stephen Murdoch
Stephen Murdoch
214 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MTS2 

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time

    Pros

    Good compensation with good benefits Work life balance is good

    Cons

    None as such for me at least

    Advice to Management

    None

    Micro Focus2019-05-07

    Micro Focus Response

    May 15, 2019HR

    Thank you for your comments and taking the time to feedback. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at Micro Focus and that you were pleased with your work/life balance, as well as compensation and benefits.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Micro Focus is ok to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Troy, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work and life balance.

    Cons

    As a software developer, not much room for advancement and little advice on professional growth.

    Micro Focus2019-05-12

    Micro Focus Response

    May 20, 2019HR

    Thanks for your feedback. For our developers, we know opportunities for professional growth can improve even further, so we’re setting up a Developer Hub on our intranet. There, you’ll find details on our R&D engineering seminar program and newly available product training. There is more to come, so watch this space.

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Not the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Human Resources Business Partner in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Portfolio of solutions is wide, so lot's of opportunity to learn

    Cons

    UK based leadership, decisions are always cascaded to the US Employees are not at the center of what they do Constant layoffs

    Micro Focus2019-05-06
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Positive Reviews are laughable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training Coordinator in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It was a paycheck

    Cons

    I wasn't going to post a review but when I read how great it is to work there, I have to. The people in India and Mexico are probably really happy because they have replaced American workers. Those who say it's a great work life balance are really shocking. Where are they working? When I worked there, I worked very hard and in order to get everything done, I had to work during my time off. At raise time, it... will be the same story year after year - sales are down, we didn't meet our goals and managers didn't get much money to give away. So the money goes to the manager's pets no matter how hard you work. In the meantime, you see all these executives being hired and getting high bonuses. The upper management really went downhill when it switched to being based in England. Some of the worst managers I've seen. They make decisions that make no sense at all. All the emphasis is on the bottom line and employees are just a necessary evil in their eyes. Great growth if you want to move to India or Mexico. Americans are dwindling fast and will eventually be extinct in my opinion.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Why bother, they won't read it or care. They have gotten feedback from employees and just ignore it.

    Micro Focus2019-05-27
  5. "Senior Technical Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Able to provide a high level of service

    Cons

    Constant job uncertainty. Even if our division does well there are layoffs.

    Micro Focus2019-05-05
  6. "caretaker of legacy technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to support big-name financial services clients

    Cons

    Center of gravity has moved to the UK and has implemented a plan to eliminate through attrition sites in CA

    Micro Focus2019-04-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Approach with caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Management Specialist in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the people, and the location.

    Cons

    A lot of closed door meetings. Effort being unrecognized.

    Micro Focus2019-04-26
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great solutions that no one has heard of........"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great software solutions, acquired HPE Security Software division and has really helped offer a complete solution to organizations Cybersecurity, Digital Transformation and Cloud initiatives.

    Cons

    Past customer Audits that were performed in the past has really been hard to overcome, being a new sales person trying to build a positive business relationship with customers that haven't seen a Micro Focus AE for over 2 years. There is a lot of relationships that have been damaged from the past and it's challenged to build them back!

    Advice to Management

    Understand that Micro Focus has a perception problem in the industry and on "the steet". Work with PR and Marketing to fix this. Long sales cycles.

    Micro Focus2019-04-12
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Very little employee investment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Direct management is very good.

    Cons

    This company invests very little in you. Don't expect Micro Focus to be a place that gets your salesmanship to the next level. The company depends on suing their customers, and expanding their existing install base for revenue. The company doesn't know how to win Net New enterprise customers. Also keep in mind they have a strict HR rule that limits pay raises during promotions to 10%. They will happily pay an... outside hire the going rate.

    Show More
    Micro Focus2019-04-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best work places in Houston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is treated like an adult, no micromanaging. This company expects you to be professional and it has the most positive environment I have seen. Oh, and the benefits! They are excellent. I will be treating this company like they treat me: like family.

    Cons

    I have to wake up and get out of bed. Really, that is the only con I can see. I am never in a rush to leave to office because it is so comfortable here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Micro Focus2019-03-20
Found 958 reviews