Micro Focus Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Developer

Micro Focus Software Developer Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Micro Focus CEO Stephen Murdoch
Stephen Murdoch
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Principal Developer working from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Software Systems Developer in Rockville, MD
    Recommends

    I worked at Micro Focus

    Pros

    Worked out of my home.. As did about 60 employees in North America. Daily video conference with coworkers in England and elsewhere to keep apprised of problems and priorities. Tasks revolved around solving customer issues and improving our software offerings by adding new features and improved diagnostics. No micro management at all. The team was very helpful and sharing. A pleasure to work there.

    Cons

    Very little budget for off-site workers. Occasional conferences or annual meetings only. Out of touch with much of corporate management. Some projects did not receive the funding they deserved.

    Micro Focus2016-03-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Micro Focus is ok to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Troy, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work and life balance.

    Cons

    As a software developer, not much room for advancement and little advice on professional growth.

    Micro Focus2019-05-12

    Micro Focus Response

    May 20, 2019HR

    Thanks for your feedback. For our developers, we know opportunities for professional growth can improve even further, so we’re setting up a Developer Hub on our intranet. There, you’ll find details on our R&D engineering seminar program and newly available product training. There is more to come, so watch this space.

    Show Less
  3. "Hired and then basically left to find my own work. Low pay but ok for students."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Engineer In Test Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus

    Pros

    It's nice and quiet. Lots of autonomy.

    Cons

    Didn't really know what I was supposed to be doing a lot of the time. Continuously asking for work and being given micro tasks. Pardon the pun.

    Micro Focus2019-04-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A wary recommendation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment and close co-workers

    Cons

    Unstable business model with multiple companies being acquirer

    Micro Focus2018-09-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus

    Pros

    Work is organized, and smooth. Product is interesting and challenging to work on. Working with the Agile methodology means always having a sense of what's going on. Everyone's very friendly.

    Cons

    Open office plan means zero privacy. Application of Agile feels somewhat ham-fisted. As the average age of the company has increased, fun stuff has decreased; the tales of the old days live on, but the actual shenanigans are long gone.

    Micro Focus2016-11-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "it is work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Software Systems Developer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus

    Pros

    friendly environment descent employees easy work

    Cons

    old fashioned management , tends toward micromanagement

    Advice to Management

    it is almost 2020 keep up with the times

    Micro Focus2016-03-12
  7. "In general: OK."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer Lead in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, work from home options. Flexible hours. Nice facilities. Benefits are better than many. Can work with other teams to solve problems.

    Cons

    Remote shop, not well connected to mother ship. Company has purchased large company: Novell. This is a distraction to management, until transition is complete.

    Micro Focus2015-11-27
  8. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Systems Developer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus

    Pros

    International enterprise company, I get to choose my projects and technologies.

    Cons

    Lack of focus, lack of judgement, lack of vision, lack of morale.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of your disparate systems and make the company "one."

    Micro Focus2015-08-26
  9. "Stable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Systems Developer in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great personalities, excellent work-life balance, strong management, interesting technologies, some talented people, good processes, good performance feedback, diplomatic HR practices.

    Cons

    Below market rate pay, strong ties to antiquated technologies, some not-so-talented people.

    Advice to Management

    Pay market rates.

    Micro Focus2014-12-07
  10. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Developer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is awesome

    Cons

    - Low salary, low growth -Less technology to work. Work is mostly maintainance

    Advice to Management

    Increase salary

    Micro Focus2019-06-15
Found 24 reviews