Micro Focus Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Engineer

Micro Focus Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Micro Focus CEO Stephen Murdoch
Stephen Murdoch
20 Ratings
  1. "Overall Experinece"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineering Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing opportunity to gain experience and meet like-minded people.

    Cons

    Very rare opportunities for career advancement

    Advice to Management

    Show less favoritism among interns. Other than that keep up the good work!

    Micro Focus2019-05-28
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Compensation is good. Relaxed WFH policy.

    Cons

    Pretty much everything else. It was truly a great place for many years. Since the merger almost all good employees have left. The last of the people with product knowledge will be gone very soon. IMO the flagship product will be no more in about a year due solely to poor management decisions. Development decisions are now being made by non-engineers which is turning into a disaster. Would you want a roofer giving... you heart surgery?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    All of these points and more have already been communicated by multiple people to upper management. There is nothing else to say.

    Micro Focus2019-07-08
  3. "Work at Microfocus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Tele working is promoted in the company

    Cons

    Not sure of the cons in the company

    Micro Focus2019-05-29
  4. "Hired and then basically left to find my own work. Low pay but ok for students."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Engineer In Test Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus

    Pros

    It's nice and quiet. Lots of autonomy.

    Cons

    Didn't really know what I was supposed to be doing a lot of the time. Continuously asking for work and being given micro tasks. Pardon the pun.

    Micro Focus2019-04-03
  5. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software QA Engineer Intern in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work with. They want to see you grow and learn new things.

    Cons

    I haven't had any yet!

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any cons.

    Micro Focus2019-02-19
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Offices for development (for now), really good manager.

    Cons

    Non-competitive salary, no career path, bonuses are rare if at all. Since the company has gone through many mergers/acquisitions the entire upper management never seem to know whats going on.

    Micro Focus2018-01-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Spin off calateral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Winchester, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can't they trimmed the grass to quickly for me to be able and give any positive review. Former HPE employee

    Cons

    Can't see this company going any where quickly with them terminating all the talent

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose track of the employee and focus on the customers needs. In the end that will attract both customers and talent.

    Micro Focus2017-12-13
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. A divers culture.

    Cons

    Since working here for so long I have not seen any cons working for this company.

    Micro Focus2017-11-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful people to work with and for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in West Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people working out of the Seattle office are spectacular. Management takes quick action when issues arise.

    Cons

    Management out of the Headquarters in the U.K. Need a better perspective when making discussions for US employees

    Micro Focus2017-03-27

    Micro Focus Response

    March 28, 2017Sr. HR Business Partner

    Thank you very much for such a great review on the Micro Focus Seattle Site "Leadership Team". We really work hard to offer the best customer service in the best possible environment. Furthermore, we are extremely thrilled to hear of the quality and dedication that was reflected within your most recent customer experience. I will ensure that those managers who sit on the Seattle Leadership Team get the recognition they so rightfully deserve. Again, thank you!

    Show Less
  10. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Company to work for. Great benefits, great people, excellent work/life balance. Honest management. Company growing financially and by acquisition. Management is excellent at successfully integrating acquired companies and setting realistic attainable financial goals. Good place for entry/mid level people to get experience and grow their career.

    Cons

    Can be boring sometimes. Slow moving and sometimes political. Working with certain overseas groups is sometimes a pain because of differing work culture and time difference. Not such a good place for experienced people (10yrs +) to move up, but is a secure place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Institute pay raises. Haven't had a pay raise in five years although bonus has been paid for the last 4 years. At least increase the bonus percentage.

    Micro Focus2016-12-14
Found 98 reviews