Micro Focus Technical Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Micro Focus Technical Consultant Reviews

Updated Sep 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Micro Focus CEO Stephen Murdoch
Stephen Murdoch
3 Ratings
  1. "Technical Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus

    Pros

    Flexible, pay is excellent and my manager is great.

    Cons

    Not enough work and hours. Just part-time

    Advice to Management

    I would ask for more work but have no advice for my manager

    Micro Focus2015-07-10
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Solutions Consultant in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible . as a working mother - can get proper work life balance.

    Cons

    Not much issues faced as the company had taken over HPE when I was in part of HPE.

    Micro Focus2019-09-07

    Micro Focus Response

    September 18, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It’s important for us to ensure individuals feel they can balance their personal and professional lives, and we’re glad to hear that you enjoyed the work flexibility while at Micro Focus. We wish you all the best in your current endeavours.

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Not employee friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Solutions Consultant in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Depends on the team since most of microfocus is now ex-HP employees

    Cons

    Works like a Private equity firm looking purely for profit..

    Advice to Management

    Keep senior resources who bring value

    Micro Focus2019-04-23
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Solutions Consultant in San Francisco, Heredia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment and quarterly team building activities

    Cons

    Managers do not raye Engineer properly, and no oportunities to grow

    Micro Focus2019-04-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Project Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Consultant in Queenstown Estate, Central
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Products as HPE merged with it.

    Cons

    Since it has merged with HPE and currently no projects, last 2 years it has been unstable, hope to see good future but job security is a concern right now.

    Advice to Management

    Retain your loyal employees and better to cross train them rather than let them leave.

    Micro Focus2019-02-26
  6. "Company trying to be like Pheonix bird"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Consultant in Chennai
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company trying to get out of hard times. Decent bonus Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Till the company comes out of hard times, we have to be patience and many HPE software employees will not have patience because they have seen 3 transition from 2015 and it is hard to wait further.

    Micro Focus2019-02-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "All that is bad in coporations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Consultant in Geneva
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work largely from home on intresting techincal problems, good contact with colleagues via skype etc. You are pretty much free from responsibility since the company does not actually care about their performance , they just need to foresee the next stock price change.

    Cons

    Company has a single goal ; stockmarket wheeling and dealing. Employee is simply a pawn (or an excel cell). OK as long as you working away on a project, but you are constantly flabberghasted by stupid irrationnel management decisions...until sme weird "information based stock deal" surfaces somewhere and you say , ah that is why they destroyed that team.

    Advice to Management

    Watch out for the SEC police !!

    Micro Focus2019-01-31
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible beyond belief"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Consultant in Bracknell, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy job, minimal thinking required

    Cons

    Zero career progression, constant layoffs, good people leaving, deadwood staying, awful middle management, aggressive auditing old and mostly defunct software, acquired horrible HPE Software that no one wants to buy, late to SaaS, terrible sales team, team VS us culture, no bonuses, executives that have no idea about the IT world, horrible offices, nasty managers and awful at retaining talent

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff, and give them some incentive to actually be proud of Micro Focus and want to work there. As it is, it's a black mark on your CV.

    Micro Focus2018-11-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "8 years career episode"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Consultant in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have just completed 8 years in Autonomy/Hewlett Packard/Hewlett Packard Enterprise/Micro Focus straight from university. Overall I found the job episode rewarding and experienced the benefits and support of working for a large organization, ie. free lunch, sick pay, the ability to purchase more holiday up to 35 days annually, there were rarely any quibbles about business expenses. I worked with large clients... and the exposure to them greatly expanded my horizons and awareness of various different systems. At various points the team that I worked with were solid and the feeling of teamwork helped me learn lots of things that university did not furnish me with.

    Show More

    Cons

    There were also some bad managers and decisions, those who would not try to understand the challenges, agree unreasonable timetables with customers, and not staff projects sufficiently. In a nominal team the work was not shared evenly. The social-life-destroying work of long term on site engagements with clients were initially agreed to be rotated monthly among members of the team, but ended up being only me... living a complete year away from home. My requests to expand my skills into core coding and development were routinely promised (after project X finishes; after Y is done), then denied with reasons of software licenses and a distrusting attitude. However, I noticed that different members of the team were granted access to code being involved with devlopers, which I had little oppurtunity to do so from client site. Despite annual Standards of Business Conduct training, concerns about client facing reporting metrics being knowningly inflated had to take an indepedent ethics and compliance board investigation for managers to rectified the reporting for the client. Responsibilties of certain tasks were formally allocated to another team, yet that team will not action on or take full responsibility of tasks and this is tacitly accepted by managemnet, as it's eaiser to just ask me to execute tasks. Redundancies in various teams fed the perception that there was more work than staffing allowed. I am writing this as I'm serving my notice, after realizing that staying within the same company for years on end severely depresses one's earning, as a similar consultancy role in a software company is offering a 25% raise.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    People who are good at something need to be given the opportunities to do something different, keeping them doing the same thing will demoralize staff. Seriously evaluate the resources that each project needs and communicate the realistic timelines.

    Micro Focus2018-03-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Depends on what you're looking for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some business units do well, some not so Good colleagues in Australia Prudent spending

    Cons

    Product that I was handling was not doing so well Not enough marketing

    Advice to Management

    Being prudent with spending is good, but you do need to spend some to invest in the business unit that you want to grow.

    Micro Focus2018-03-20
Found 11 reviews