Micro Focus "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Micro Focus Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Micro Focus CEO Stephen Murdoch
Stephen Murdoch
218 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Since microfocus is product based On sight chance is less(in 16 reviews)

  • "Pain of HPE software integration caused alot of turnover and uncertainty(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Constant leadership changes at top means lack of direction at the bottom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    +Very flexible work schedules +Easy to work from home +Benefits of being at a large organization +Professional work environment and culture

    Cons

    -Frequent changes among executive leadership -Lack of resources to develop products and keep up with competitors -Little focus on UX and branding the product experience -Very siloed teams, no unified or collaborative vision and work process -Reliance on home grown internal tools that do not work well and complicate things

    Advice to Management

    Consider looking to other SaaS products to help teams be more affective. Micro Focus teams and customers do not have the tools they need to succeed. Customer Support software, CRM software, ticketing software, collaboration software, Customer Success software, Product Management software are all desperately needed to empower employees.

    Micro Focus2018-12-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A wary recommendation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment and close co-workers

    Cons

    Unstable business model with multiple companies being acquirer

    Micro Focus2018-09-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, tough management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract Manager 

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers, friendly work environment. Work-life balance was good most of the time, although this depended somewhat on one's particular manager.

    Cons

    The company, dating from Novell/WordPerfect days, was unstable. There was always a fear of layoffs, and an inability to come up with great, new, breakthrough products. More hierarchy and red tape than you would imagine for a software company.

    Micro Focus2017-11-07
  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus

    Pros

    Good work environment, good people

    Cons

    Lots of changes, layoffs common

    Micro Focus2016-10-31
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus

    Pros

    Easy work, nice work environment, looks good on resume

    Cons

    Repetitive Repetitive Repetitive Repetitive Repetitive

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great Job!

    Micro Focus2016-10-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Company, Great People, Flexible Work Environment.

    Cons

    None of which I can think.

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledgement of excellence

    Micro Focus2016-09-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A Professional and Swanky Place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Micro Focus for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked at the Micro Focus location that was formerly Novell in Provo. I worked as a temporary worker there doing some data entry work for a few weeks in the sales department. My experience with the company's work environment was that it was surprisingly quiet (a good thing) but everyone in the department kept on task while at the same time feeling free to converse with each other and ask each other for help. As... for management, my manager, or boss, Michael Pectol, during the time I was here, I developed a good report with. He took the time to make sure I knew what was required of me to do for the job, and to meet with me once a week to see how was doing on the job.

    Show More

    Cons

    All I can say as a con about the workplace, is that each row of cubicles was much like the other, so I would be confused sometimes as to whether I was at my correct cubicle or not. However, it wasn't really that much of a problem.

    Micro Focus2016-04-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sad farewell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Micro Focus for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work environment and local management

    Cons

    New management has dropped moral and trust within the company.

    Advice to Management

    Learn from former management.

    Micro Focus2015-12-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Attachmate is dead, long live Attachmate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Development Consultant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I started with Attachmate back in 1997 and moved around to several different teams until finally settling with the Consulting group in 2000. Attachmate had a great culture of people and work environment. Most employees there had years of experience and were quality people.

    Cons

    Attachmate got bought out in late 2014 by a company over in England, MicroFocus. I fear that all of the Attachmate aura has been sucked out and replaced. The Ratings below are for the old Attachmate and not MicroFocus!!! With Attachmate being a somewhat smaller company, there is very little career advancement possible. I've been a Senior Consultant with them for over 10 years and saw nowhere else to move up.

    Micro Focus2015-10-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, bad sommunicator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Good working environment Great co-workers Good salary

    Cons

    Communication from higher ups is horrible, even to the management staff. Too many secrets and too much game playing. Little to no support when you want to move to a different department or different role in the company

    Advice to Management

    Relay information to everyone, not just higher management. Stop the game playing, Stop "asking" a group of employees to do a new job and making it seem like it's something they really have an option to do.

    Micro Focus2015-07-02
Found 963 reviews