Micro Focus "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Micro Focus Reviews

Updated 14 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
55%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Micro Focus CEO Stephen Murdoch
Stephen Murdoch
245 Ratings
  1. "Security Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Engineer in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable company with a good low-risk growth strategy. Lots of opportunities with many different specialization areas.

    Cons

    Lower R&D budget. Growth not huge but sustainable. Good work/life balance.

    Micro Focus2017-10-04
  2. Helpful (4)

    "too much bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    job security work autonomously teamwork good work life balance

    Cons

    chaos, chaos, chaos meetings to review meetings to review meeting minutes left hand not talking to right hand executives having territory battles

    Advice to Management

    run the business, not your personal agenda

    Micro Focus2017-06-07
  3. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. They can be flexible with your schedule.

    Cons

    Don't really have any cons.

    Micro Focus2017-04-05
  4. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, great work life balance

    Cons

    Didn't come across any

    Micro Focus2017-01-26
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Focus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office and kitchen decorated nice. Office staff did a great job doing internal events.

    Cons

    NO work, life, balance. Not enough training on the software that we sold. Way too many meetings on quota targets. Quota was to high to even hit. Only a few reps make there quota. Turn over is very high. Seems like a "boys club" Management would write down on a wall what time when people would arrive to work.

    Advice to Management

    Being micro managed isn't fun in the workplace.

    Micro Focus2017-01-31
  6. "Great company, great people, great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior HRBP in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus

    Pros

    The best recruiting process ever, high level, very professional, and outstanding interviews in a pretty fast and smooth selection process. Leaders take Work-life balance seriously, which speaks volume about its culture. Having employees engaged, committed, and empowered is the reflect of amazing leaders, leaving no room for micro-management.

    Cons

    None so far, just living the dream.

    Micro Focus2016-12-15
  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Company to work for. Great benefits, great people, excellent work/life balance. Honest management. Company growing financially and by acquisition. Management is excellent at successfully integrating acquired companies and setting realistic attainable financial goals. Good place for entry/mid level people to get experience and grow their career.

    Cons

    Can be boring sometimes. Slow moving and sometimes political. Working with certain overseas groups is sometimes a pain because of differing work culture and time difference. Not such a good place for experienced people (10yrs +) to move up, but is a secure place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Institute pay raises. Haven't had a pay raise in five years although bonus has been paid for the last 4 years. At least increase the bonus percentage.

    Micro Focus2016-12-14
  8. "Micro Focus is a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love the interesting and challenging work I do every day. Work/Life balance is great. Time off is great. Upper management is actively engaged. The company wants to expand into new markets.The future looks bright.

    Cons

    Pay is okay. For me, pay raises don't exist. Benefits are okay too.

    Advice to Management

    Pay raises please.

    Micro Focus2016-12-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Would Not Reccomend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Micro Focus

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Great people outside of upper management. Good vacation and paid time off.

    Cons

    Very unorganized upper management. Pay is often wrong and late for commissions. Overall, current management does not seem to respect or care much about employee happiness.

    Micro Focus2017-01-03
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Troy, MI
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Focus

    Pros

    There are very few pros about working at Micro Focus except that people here are mostly lazy so you can skate by for a while doing nothing. Laid back Work/Life balance is good Benefits are good

    Cons

    Company likes to grow through acquisition rather than organic sales Audits are the only way they make money. Which means you alienate your client for a one time deal to satisfy investors. You better have a territory that hasn't been audited to death or you will fail at making quota. Territories are extremely uneven but the same expectations are held for all reps. Non existent marketing I was told my... salary would increase once I passed a certification. I have since completed the cert and HR is refusing to honor their promise. Training is terrible

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop counting audits a part of sales reps quotas, they have nothing to do with sales. Some reps sit back and watch the audit team do their job for them while other reps fail in territories with nothing to audit. This creates an environment where sales resp are not control of hitting their number

    Micro Focus2016-08-11
Found 188 reviews