MicroStrategy Reviews | Glassdoor

MicroStrategy Reviews

Updated March 17, 2017
115 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
MicroStrategy Chairman, President, and CEO Michael J. Saylor
Michael J. Saylor
80 Ratings

115 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • upper management takes too much time to get things done (in 47 reviews)

  • Work life balance sometimes gets challenged (in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (4)

    "Good Technology Bad leader"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time

    Pros

    Very good and smart people

    Cons

    Very bad CEO struggle with humans


  2. Helpful (9)

    "Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in San Diego, CA
    Former Employee - Program Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Smart and dedicated employees with a desire to create the best products possible.

    Cons

    Unfocused upper management, notably the CEO. Company moves from trend to trend wasting resources in the process instead of concentrating on its core business.

    Company shows little regard for employees, treating them as interchangeable cogs.

    Advice to Management

    Stop dabbling in side projects and work on core business. Work on rewarding and retaining top talent long-term.

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jan 25, 2017 – HR

    Thank you for your service during your 10 years at MicroStrategy. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is valuable to us and we will address this with our CXO team. Good ... More


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Pluses and Minuses"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time

    Pros

    Major player in exciting industry.

    Cons

    Challenging workplace to be successful.

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jan 25, 2017 – HR

    We appreciate your review and wish you continued success in your career with MicroStrategy!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (11)

    "clueless leadership"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tysons Corner, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tysons Corner, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time

    Pros

    good engineers, decent product.

    Cons

    too many directors and VPs. most of them dont do much, they just look busy.
    A very antiquated culture. Lot of attrition.

    MicroStrategy Response

    Nov 29, 2016 – HR

    Thank you for your review. We encourage you to reach out to your HR Business Partner with any additional thoughts. We wish you continued success at MicroStrategy!


  6. Helpful (7)

    "Admin"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    the gym and being close to Tysons mall

    Cons

    Clicky work environment, too much paranoia. Owner is awful

    MicroStrategy Response

    Sep 15, 2016 – HR

    Thank you for your review. We wish you would have reached out to HR regarding your concerns while you were here. Thank you for your service and good luck in your next role.


  7. Helpful (42)

    "Horrible Executive Team"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - very chill company (<40hr/week of work)
    - casual dress
    - good location (Tysons)

    Cons

    - career suicide (0 career growth)
    - CEO is possibly bipolar or maybe just insane (upper management literally gets cleaned out every 6 months)
    - awful pay (well below market)
    - no sense of community or family
    - terrible benefits
    - very disorganized and varying levels of professionalism
    - code base has no direction or architecture
    - very poor standards
    - full of people who can't leave (VISA status) or are too scared to know any better

    Advice to Management

    - get your act together
    - right now this company is a scam -- it is in a state of managed decline and will continue that way unless you really start investing in your people

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jul 6, 2016 – HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We will be sharing this review with our Technology and Executive teams.


  8. Helpful (12)

    "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time

    Pros

    industry leader, solid regional management

    Cons

    CEO disconnected from product and market.

    Advice to Management

    Empower your leadership team to run the company

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jul 8, 2016 – HR

    We thank you for your feedback and service to the company while you were here. We will share your feedback to our CEO and Executive team.


  9. Helpful (12)

    "Director - Professional Services"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Professional Services in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Former Employee - Director of Professional Services in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    My memories of MSTR when i first started

    Cons

    The culture and people at MStR have been dessimated....

    Advice to Management

    Stop the churn

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jul 8, 2016 – HR

    We thank you for your feedback and service to the company while you were here.


  10. Helpful (30)

    "Software Engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice offices, nice gym, generous vacation, smart and hard-working colleagues

    Cons

    Senior management is useless. The only senior manager that matters is Saylor. The technology is slowly showing that cannot keep pace with companies like Tableau. Our CTO is clueless and a very poor leader. We spend more time dealing with bureaucratic stuff instead of actually improving the product. We keep hiring Senior VPs with huge salary packages but we cannot increase a key engineer salary by 10k.

    Advice to Management

    They will not listen or care so why even bother....

    MicroStrategy Response

    May 23, 2016 – HR

    We appreciate you providing feedback on MicroStrategy. We look forward to bringing up your past concerns with our Technology leadership team.


  11. Helpful (24)

    "Company lacks clear vision and long term goals"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Many smart people with great ideas

    Cons

    SYSTEMATIC TOP- DOWN MICRO-MANAGEMENT
    lack of employee appreciation
    Employees have no ability to voice their ideas or concerns

    MicroStrategy Response

    May 23, 2016 – HR

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on MicroStrategy. We are happy to hear you are surrounded by great talent. We encourage you to speak with your HR Business Partner about current ... More



Showing 115 of 679 reviews
Reset Filters