MicroStrategy Reviews | Glassdoor

MicroStrategy Reviews

Updated June 18, 2017
153 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
MicroStrategy Chairman, President, and CEO Michael J. Saylor
Michael J. Saylor
78 Ratings

153 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • upper management takes too much time to get things done (in 50 reviews)

  • Work life balance sometimes gets challenged (in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "It's ok for a job right out of college"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Vienna, VA
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Vienna, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Really get a hands on look at all portions of the business and have the build connection c-suite level executives, as you work alongside them.

    Cons

    There is little room for upward mobility. This place is good to start out, and then move out. It's hard to find someone here who has been with the company for more the 2 years.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to you workers and provide avenues for promotion

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – Chief Human Resources Officer

    I like your advice to management and agree with it. I am the new head of HR at MicroStrategy and one of the areas where we can do better is in how we support the first year and ongoing career ... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Depends on YOU"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Tysons Corner, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    if YOU are top notch, the company will be

    Cons

    If YOU are not top notch, don't expect to be treated so

    Advice to Management

    Core BI reporting should not be left behind for shiny objects

    MicroStrategy Response

    May 30, 2017 – HR

    Thank you for your review. This is an agile look on our organization and we agree that experiences and your career is what you make of it. We wish you continued success at MicroStrategy.

  3. Helpful (10)

    "Good Company Awful Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience Designer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Former Employee - User Experience Designer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good Salary and Benefits. Nice Gym. Lot's of bright people. Sometimes it was hard to tell who the smartest person in the room was.

    Cons

    Micheal Saylor is a tool. This guy wrote a book that was on a 4th grade level, then spent thousands buying it from retailers so it would go up to number one. The book was awful, but it was #1 on the NYT bestsellers list.

    Advice to Management

    What can I say? There were layoffs and a management coup while I was there. I really liked everyone I worked with but everybody complained voraciously about the 13th floor

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – HR

    We appreciate your review. Thank you for your service at MicroStrategy. We are happy to hear you were surrounded by engaged and agile individuals. Good luck in your career!


  4. "Good First Job out of College"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fairfax, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Good work-life balance.
    - Good place to lear about BI

    Cons

    - No career progress
    - Lots of re-org

    MicroStrategy Response

    Feb 9, 2017 – HR

    Thanks for your review! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your first job out of college at MicroStrategy. Your manager is a great resource to address any concerns you may have regarding your ... More


  5. "Good Learning Opportunity"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Oracle Database Administrator/AWS Systems Engineer in Falls Church, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Oracle Database Administrator/AWS Systems Engineer in Falls Church, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The scope of learning and enhancing your skills in newer technologies is immense.

    Cons

    Not a good payer. The vision is not that solid.

    MicroStrategy Response

    Dec 13, 2016 – HR

    Thank you for your review. We wish you continued success at MicroStrategy!


  6. Helpful (9)

    "You take the good with the bad"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sterling, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sterling, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    At the beginning, work was fun. Great work/life balance, great management. Even in the first hiring freeze we had, we stayed together. There was a huge family and team atmosphere at the time and, as cheesy as it sounds, we felt like "we're all in this together.

    Cons

    But things changed as time went on. They have a very interesting way of decreasing the team size, increasing the workload and wondering why people are unhappy. They punished people for speaking out about the crappy work conditions. We had a revolving door of VPs and Executives because the CEO was never happy. He only wanted "yes" men. When people told him the ship was sinking, he fired them. And the ship kept sinking.

    Advice to Management

    Don't make 5 people do the work of 10 people. Hire engineers. Pay them at least the industry average. Just because you've done things a certain way for a long time, doesn't mean it's the right way. Be humble enough to change.

    MicroStrategy Response

    Nov 7, 2016 – HR

    Thank you for your review and your work with MicroStrategy. Your feedback is important and we will pass this along to our management and CXO teams.


  7. Helpful (9)

    "Good company, unless you need to deal directly with CXO team"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great flexibility of when work gets done
    Fun, hard working people

    Cons

    Lots of pressure if your work is visible to the CXO team
    Nobody can question any higher management decision because you risk being insubordinate. They may listen, but you probably do not want to take the risk if they don't. Your position may be at stake

    Advice to Management

    Listen what POs have to say. At least in my team, it seems like my PO just gets told what to do all the time and he has no saying whatsoever on what needs to be done

    MicroStrategy Response

    Sep 23, 2016 – HR

    Thank you for your review. We encourage you to reach out to our HR department to help with any obstacles you may be experiencing in your role. Your feedback is helpful, and we will pass this along to ... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Has promise"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tysons Corner, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tysons Corner, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time

    Pros

    Smart people, good product.

    Cons

    Lack of clear road map to the future. Lack of planning puts the company at risk.

    Advice to Management

    Get a strong product road map together and many other things will fall into place to support the strategy.

    MicroStrategy Response

    Sep 12, 2016 – HR

    We appreciate your review. Your feedback is important to us and we will pass this on to our Executive team. Good luck in your next role!


  9. Helpful (5)

    "Starting to Stabilize"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Fellow consultants work hard and help each other out when possible. Able to learn a lot about different industries and Business Intelligence.

    Cons

    Work to Life Balance is not there. Always seem to be working, either for customer or HQ's tons of quarterly required updates and training.

    Advice to Management

    Set the boundaries between customers and our own personal time so we don't get burnt out.


  10. "Senior Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Impressive product which is cutting edge in BI. Also you gain useful experience in BI.

    Cons

    Training needs to improve. Compensation tends to be a bit unsatisfactory at times but can be negotiated. Benefits could be better. No stock option.

    Advice to Management

    PRoviding better benefits and stock option plan could be a big plus for the employees.


Showing 153 of 700 reviews
Reset Filters