MicroStrategy Reviews | Glassdoor

MicroStrategy Reviews

Updated May 23, 2017
690 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

690 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • upper management takes too much time to get things done (in 50 reviews)

  • Work life balance sometimes gets challenged (in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing Internship Program"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology Intern in Tysons Corner, VA
    Former Employee - Technology Intern in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You will find very experienced and helpful mentors.
    Company culture is very healthy.
    Creativity and innovation is highly valued.
    Thirsty Thursdays and Food Truck Fridays are a great initiative to loosen up from work.

    Cons

    Did not find any cons during internship program.

    MicroStrategy Response

    Aug 25, 2016 – HR

    We appreciate you taking the time to review MicroStrategy. It is great to hear you have had a great experience jump starting your career with our organization. We hope you will consider full time ... More


  2. Helpful (4)

    "good work place to start career"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Work load is not too heavy. People here are very nice to work with. The benefit is competitive in DC area.

    Cons

    The products are some kind of ...old

    MicroStrategy Response

    Aug 17, 2016 – HR

    Thank you for your review on MicroStrategy! We are very happy to hear you are surrounded by cheerful employees. We wish you continued success at MicroStrategy.


  3. Helpful (43)

    "Horrible Executive Team"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - very chill company (<40hr/week of work)
    - casual dress
    - good location (Tysons)

    Cons

    - career suicide (0 career growth)
    - CEO is possibly bipolar or maybe just insane (upper management literally gets cleaned out every 6 months)
    - awful pay (well below market)
    - no sense of community or family
    - terrible benefits
    - very disorganized and varying levels of professionalism
    - code base has no direction or architecture
    - very poor standards
    - full of people who can't leave (VISA status) or are too scared to know any better

    Advice to Management

    - get your act together
    - right now this company is a scam -- it is in a state of managed decline and will continue that way unless you really start investing in your people

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jul 6, 2016 – HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We will be sharing this review with our Technology and Executive teams.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (9)

    "Great people, great perks, and great atmosphere"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Some great pros to working for Microstrategy include:

    -Free 24 hour gym with free classes led by a personal trainer
    -Paid Vacation time as well as sick leave and personal days off
    -Laid back atmosphere with casual dress code
    -Health insurance as well as short and long term disability insurance
    -Smart, energetic and engaging colleagues that want to help and drive the company forward

    Cons

    At this point the only real downside that I see is that at times teams can feel a little micromanaged

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jul 22, 2016 – HR

    We are happy to hear you've had a positive experience thus far at MicroStrategy!


  6. Helpful (5)

    "MicroStrategy Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Really excellent products, positive and energetic culture, great sales compensation plan

    Cons

    Name recognition in the market isn't as strong as it could be.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in brand marketing

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jul 22, 2016 – HR

    We appreciate your feedback! We will pass your on your advice to management and our Marketing team.


  7. Helpful (115)

    "MicroStrategy is truly a unique company."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Employee in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Current Employee - Technology Employee in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Microstrategy is working in two very hot industries (enterprise analytics and security). I am seeing lots of really great change in the company and that is paying off for company and employees. Company recently went from annual to quarterly bonus, as an example of more directly connecting contribution to employee benefit.

    Cons

    Sometime traffic can be a issue getting in and out of office around Christmas time, but have seen decrease in issues over last 6 months.

    Advice to Management

    Microstrategy had a really good team of employees. Keep doing events like the company all-hands, company picnic, as well as smaller departmental events to continue to connect the team together.


  8. Helpful (12)

    "Director - Professional Services"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Professional Services in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Former Employee - Director of Professional Services in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    My memories of MSTR when i first started

    Cons

    The culture and people at MStR have been dessimated....

    Advice to Management

    Stop the churn

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jul 8, 2016 – HR

    We thank you for your feedback and service to the company while you were here.


  9. Helpful (10)

    "PSM"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Psm in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Psm in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great People to work with and always challenging assignments.

    Cons

    Demanding environment, never a dull moment

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jun 6, 2016 – HR

    We value your feedback on MicroStrategy. Thank you for contributing.


  10. Helpful (6)

    "Ups and Downs"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Technology is great and used to have a huge step up on the competition. In my opinion, the market has become saturated and leadership made some poor decisions on their focus, so people have caught up and in a hurry.

    Cons

    CEO is brilliant, but not very personable. There is constant churn at the leadership spot, they will provide disorganized support and the culture feels very fragmented.

    Advice to Management

    I recommend more stability, our sales cycles take 9-18 months, if you change things ever 12 you're not really doing anyone any favors.

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jun 6, 2016 – HR

    Thank you for your length of service with MicroStrategy. We will pass this feedback onto the CEO & Executive team.


  11. Helpful (30)

    "Software Engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice offices, nice gym, generous vacation, smart and hard-working colleagues

    Cons

    Senior management is useless. The only senior manager that matters is Saylor. The technology is slowly showing that cannot keep pace with companies like Tableau. Our CTO is clueless and a very poor leader. We spend more time dealing with bureaucratic stuff instead of actually improving the product. We keep hiring Senior VPs with huge salary packages but we cannot increase a key engineer salary by 10k.

    Advice to Management

    They will not listen or care so why even bother....

    MicroStrategy Response

    May 23, 2016 – HR

    We appreciate you providing feedback on MicroStrategy. We look forward to bringing up your past concerns with our Technology leadership team.


Showing 690 of 693 reviews
Reset Filters