MicroStrategy Reviews in Washington, DC | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

MicroStrategy Washington DC Reviews

Updated December 1, 2017
125 reviews

Filter

Filter

Washington, DC Area

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
MicroStrategy Chairman, President, and CEO Michael J. Saylor
Michael J. Saylor
90 Ratings

125 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • work life balance is very good there (in 84 reviews)

  • Great People to work with and always challenging assignments (in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management doesn't always give initiatives enough time to see if they work so it can feel like you're changing direction several times a year (in 53 reviews)

  • When I told senior management that they have to (in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Sales Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Engineer in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Any individual employee can make a difference at MicroStrategy.

    Cons

    MicroStrategy operates in a very competitive environment.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to increase investment in product innovation and marketing.

    MicroStrategy Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – Chief Human Resources Officer

    I love and appreciate your positivity. The impact we can all make on this company is potentially profound and glad you are a part of it.


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Traditional BI company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Owner in Vienna, VA
    Former Employee - Senior Product Owner in Vienna, VA
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    great perks, great team with smart engineers.

    Cons

    BI has a long history with nearly 30 years and it is very hard to do something creative. The tech stack is kind outdated.

  3. Helpful (6)

    "BDR'S time to run out of the 14th Floor!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    None for a BDR, 2017 has been a disaster more then 50% BDR worlwide have quit becuase CEO decided to reduce the commission by more then 50%.

    Lack of respect for BDR, A few Account Executives respect and appreciate but upper management have no respect for BDR and while they increase account executive salary and Commission they have reduced the BDR.

    I would also like to ask a question why nobody from HR has respnded to the previous posts by BDR'S which have been negative but have responded to all the other BDR posts?

    Cons

    As mentioned in my Pros, More BDR will quit if they don't give them the respect and commision they deserve, already many of the competitors have hired EX BDR from MicroStrategy.

    Advice to Management

    Top management need to respect BDR and what value they have otherwise you will continue to loose and Business Development will suffer.

    MicroStrategy Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Chief Human Resources Officer

    Our BDRs are critical to the success of our company. We have been reading and considering the posts that have come from our BDR organization during the past several months. While the response on... More


  4. Helpful (11)

    "MicroStrategy show no respect for its employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    small gym
    fitbit discount
    location close to mall

    Cons

    I would give negative stars if I could for the following disrespect that Microstrategy gives it its employee:

    1.Poor management: Employee is treated as tool only to serve the purpose for managers to climb to higher position. You will be told to shift priority all the time and your opinion will be ignored

    2. Heavy work life balance: Employee is given minimum time estimation just to fit more tasks into one iteration

    3. Sick days: Do not be sick more than 5 days per year. Otherwise you will be made to work and if you don't work as hard as healthy people, prepare to be laid off.

    4. Manager not responsible: Be prepared for irresponsible manager who never say no to his boss and who is not daring to take responsibility.

    5. Upper management: CXO team has their own kitchen and the remains will be sent to employee everyday. LOL

    6. Non-Transparent promotion rules: Do not expect to be promoted if you don't have a good connection with your boss.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employee better.

    MicroStrategy Response

    Nov 29, 2017 – Chief Human Resources Officer

    I really don't like to see a post like this and would invite you to reach to your HR team with specific details that we can act on (as I would any of our employees). That being said, I will... More


  5. "Best in Enteprise reporting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vienna, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vienna, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Still among the best in enterprise BI. Excel in enterprise BI

    Cons

    Lost focus and now cant seem to catch up with data discovery vendor even with focus. Also missing data engineering spectrum of things

    Advice to Management

    Need better data discovery tool. Why no offer in data engineering side of thing.


  6. "Relaxed and Youthful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer in Washington, DC

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work place is relaxed. Has matching 401k. Nice, friendly and intelligent co-workers. Has small fitness center if you're into that, free packing garage and somewhat flexible working hour

    Cons

    Questionable Senior management decision making, Salary isn't that great if you're not in managerial position, high employee turnover, employee micromanagement


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Easy to get lost in the daily shuffle."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    As an international organization it is great learning environment for anyone.

    Cons

    Company course changes are made on a whim and difficult to predict if you aren't in senior management.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to management would be don't play moves so close to the chest. It may not be information for everyone but explaining why a move is being made is helpful.

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jul 13, 2017 – Chief Human Resources Officer

    I agree, this is a great learning environment in a fast-paced industry which creates a lot of excitement. That being said - we are working on our communication practices and how we a) develop better... More

  8. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Engineer in Vienna, VA
    Current Employee - Support Engineer in Vienna, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Management open to suggestions
    Friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Training is a bit lacking

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jul 13, 2017 – Chief Human Resources Officer

    Hi there, thank you for this feedback and we have heard you about the training. Did you know that MicroStrategy was recently named Lynda.com’s #1 most engaged customer. This journey started with our... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "It's ok for a job right out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Vienna, VA
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Vienna, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Really get a hands on look at all portions of the business and have the build connection c-suite level executives, as you work alongside them.

    Cons

    There is little room for upward mobility. This place is good to start out, and then move out. It's hard to find someone here who has been with the company for more the 2 years.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to you workers and provide avenues for promotion

    MicroStrategy Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – Chief Human Resources Officer

    I like your advice to management and agree with it. I am the new head of HR at MicroStrategy and one of the areas where we can do better is in how we support the first year and ongoing career... More


  10. "Innovative company in growing industry with amazing platform for enterprise analytics and mobility."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    You get to work with smart, motivated and interesting people on an amazing product.

    Cons

    No time for lunch :).

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing the envelope to make great advances in the BI industry, in order to make our customers successful.

    MicroStrategy Response

    May 5, 2017 – HR

    Thank you for your cheerful review. We appreciate your feedback and we will communicate this to our product teams. Wishing you success and more time to enjoy lunch at MicroStrategy :)


Showing 125 of 759 reviews
Reset Filters