MicroStrategy Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Jan 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 of over 1,136 reviews

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
MicroStrategy Chairman, President, and CEO Michael J. Saylor
Michael J. Saylor
697 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

385

57 Comments

Tech

210.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=MicroStrategy~8018
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of MicroStrategy and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Good range of opportunities

    Jun 9, 2015 - Professional Services Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on multiple types of projects given the combination of core BI plus hosted SaaS offerings. I had the chance to start in the field doing BI consulting, then take a leadership role in an incubated business.

    Cons

    Intense culture is not a fit for everyone given the drive that comes from the senior management and the scrutiny of a public software company.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Wasted potential and misguided leadership

    Mar 10, 2020 - Sales Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very hard-working colleagues and some great mid-level management. The ability to work remotely is also a huge plus. They are also making investments in the products which have resulted in some very competitive offerings.

    Cons

    Senior management has eliminated compensation for sales on a large portion of the product portfolio yet still expects to have a motivated and effective sales force. The new senior sales leadership doesn't seem to understand the human aspect of leadership. You can't pull comp and expect that to motivate your sales staff to focus on the one remaining item you comp. Instead, it motivates us to find a new company to work for. Initiatives and comp plans are also completely misaligned. Major pushes for sales this year are getting all customers upgraded to the latest software version and moving the majority to the cloud. Guess what sales doesn't get compensated on? That's right, cloud and upgrades (among many other things). Additionally, sales management is putting a lot of pressure on us to boost our pipeline numbers to unrealistic heights. The reality is, people are artificially boosting numbers in an attempt to make things look good but the real prospects don't look promising.

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Pretty abusive place, comes from the top

    Jul 28, 2020 - Senior Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Team members, at least on the better teams

    Cons

    Execs and senior management (of which I'm one, so I am in all "those" meetings) are really negative toward employees, the ones keeping the whole thing going. Attitude is very much one of "you're lucky to work here" instead of "we really appreciate what you do every day". The higher you climb, expect to be increasingly surrounded by empty suits who are a better bully than the guy they got promoted over. And expect CXX meetings where someone didn't like their socks that morning and takes it out on you and everyone around you - literally, an hour of not talking about what you and others worked hard to present, but being an emotional punching bag for "someone's" bad mood that day. You suck. You don't know your job. Everyone sucks. No one does their job. It's really motivating to hear all this after 60 hour weeks working smarter as well as harder and doing a really intelligent job on a project, and doing that every day of your work week. Not. Apparently making a million plus salary/bonus, is a license to beat down on everyone, instead of being a reason to strive to be a human being worth what you get paid. The people who stick around tend to be the "soft" type, those who don't mind being kicked regularly. Expect to see prostitutes in the entrance lobby. This happens regularly. The culture is super-toxic for women, and I've heard a lot of men complain about it too - gross, inappropriate, illegal, abusive, disrespectful. But the bullies always win out here. All companies reflect the attitude at the top; it's true here as well.

    Continue reading
    22 people found this review helpful

    MicroStrategy Response

    HR Manager

    Thank you for the review. Over the past six months, some of our leaders have been discussing our culture and what it takes for MicroStrategy to be the best it can be for its employees. Providing an environment that fosters our values of being agile, engaged, precise, transparent and cheerful, while focusing on the health and safety of our employees has been top priority. That’s why we are excited to announce to our employees some changes to our culture, which will help us continue to adapt to working from home and create new ways of engaging our teams. Our committed colleagues are what makes us and our product successful, and that is why rewarding and recognizing our employees is important. While our culture is adapting and always has room for improvement, harassment has always been prohibited by our policies, and we encourage employees to speak to their HR representative if they have any concerns or see anything that they feel is inappropriate behavior, regardless of the level of employee. Thank you again for your feedback.

  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Good Technology, but an Organization driven by Fear and the Old Boys Club

    Oct 10, 2019 - Software Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Having left the company for another software company, I can appreciate that there are decent, somewhat forward thinking engineering processes at MSTR. Appropriate emphasis on quality and testing and super intelligent engineers at MSTR.

    Cons

    Where do I start with the Cons? The Technology department is ruled by "The Old Boys Club" and you are made very much aware by this group if you are not one of the cool kids. Arrogance and "I said so, so do it" are the way the Technology leadership team manages. Obviously in a software company there are ebbs and flows of stress/work hours right before a release, but at MSTR, tensions always run high about 1-2 months before a release and the way in which people treat each other exudes disrespect and toxicity. This trickles down from management and creates an atmosphere of general lack of kindness. This is a company where only heroes are celebrated. You must prove your mettle by showing up early, staying late, coming in on weekends, and above all else *making sure you are seen and heard doing that.* Several months ago it was mandated that EVERY SINGLE Technology give up their entire weekend (shortly before the holidays) even if there was no pending work to be done by you/your team. The understanding was -- just come in , and make sure you are seen by someone by senior management. Only SuperStars are celebrated here, not Rock Stars -- the ones that fly under the radar but consistently get their job done, day in and day out. I will take a less visionary or pivotal software company where people treat each other kindly any day over a company like MSTR which, while having admittedly excellent Technology, has an internally dysfunctional and toxic work culture.

    16 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    At least the health plan covers therapy.

    Apr 13, 2015 - Technical Support Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Used to be pretty good. Tech Support department was insulated from the huge layoffs and reorgs in 2014. Nobody gives you crap for leaving on time at the end of the day. Benefits are pretty good.

    Cons

    New senior management decided to reorg Tech Support for the heck of it, breaking up functional product-oriented teams with good chemistry and reassigning everyone randomly according to regional business units. Completely nonsensical. Non-technical people were put in charge of this process and have no idea what they are doing, so now they are shooting first and asking questions later. To add insult to injury the new management has also decided not to pay out quarterly bonuses as agreed upon previously (and to be completely incommunicado as to why or what's going on). Employees were informed that the changes were due to Michael Saylor's desire to make every department responsible for their own profitability. How does that make any sense for Tech Support?

    Continue reading
    52 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great entry-level job, but not for mid- to senior positions

    Jul 2, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - great place to get your career started in BI - great paid vacation days compared to other companies, especially when you're an 8-yrs tenure - opportunities to transfer vertically or offices abroad

    Cons

    - promotion among departments is inconsistent to say the least. You see people who aren't up to their titles across organization. Promotion isn't based on performance but by quota and tenure, e.g. Even though there're qualified employee s for promotion, if it maxes out the #of promotion Saylor agrees, superstar performers have to wait. - limited upward career opportunities. From senior management to CXO don't care about their subordinates career development. Recently HR developed online manager courses, but senior managers don't take it seriously. - uncompetitive pays and benefit. This is the main reason many talented people left the company as soon as they got Green Card. - Senior management treat non-US employees as slave. They know that non-US employees can't leave without sponsorship, so they take advantage for their pay. They try no efforts to retain talented employees. - The company is run solely by Saylor. When he thinks of a new idea, it WILL be implemented no matter how it makes business sense. We have many non-revenue generating free apps which they spent so much money and which have nothing to do with BI. No direction as a company. - instead of purchasing a private jet or get CXO office suites custom-designed, get a portion back to hard-working employees such as profit share or stock options.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Land of the ever changing comp plan

    Jan 5, 2019 - Business Development Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice location, decent technology if a little dated

    Cons

    Business Development is probably one of the toughest and most important positions in any organisation serious about increasing its revenue. It can be soul destroying getting a constant stream of "no's" day after day as you chase key accounts. But the thing that keeps you coming back for more is the potential to make money when those "no's" become "yes's". Breaking into new accounts can take months / years of research/ preparing the right message/ calling / emailing etc but again it is worth it as you are chasing your comp once the deal lands. The number 1 problem for BDR's at Microstrategy is that you can have no faith in the comp plan. It seems to change on an almost quarterly basis -if I was cycnical, and I am -I would suggest the changes in comp plan directly correlate to how much money MSTR have to pay out in a given quarter based on expected deals closing. It appears that MSTR will do anything to limit the amount of bonus paid to BDR's, as well as treating them with disrespect and with borderline contempt. I won't even bother going into the politics of the place or ever changing senior management with their constantly changing focus as if to justify their positions. My only goal to write a review here is to warn potential BDR's to think twice before taking a role here as you WILL NOT make the expected commission

    Continue reading
    19 people found this review helpful

    MicroStrategy Response

    HR Manager

    We value feedback from all of our employees. At the beginning of 2019, we introduced a new compensation plan, which is based upon generating sales qualified pipeline in order to ensure alignment with the field teams. Our goal was to continue to invest significantly in our BDR team. For the vast majority of BDRs, this plan offers more predictable earnings, helps them get paid faster, and is more lucrative. Our philosophy is to allow them to overachieve and see the rewards. In addition, we are making other investments like providing the team with specialized training in social selling from a leading national sales enablement firm. We’re also sending all our team members to our annual Sales Kickoff in Arizona, where they’ll be fully enabled on our groundbreaking new platform release, MicroStrategy 2019, which was just launched this week. Our managers are always here to listen and address any individual concerns.

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    You take the good with the bad

    Oct 5, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MSTR offers a laid back work environment, while learning from intelligent peers. The people are what make this place. Although a lot of talent has left, there are still wonderful people here. Work hard and the career opportunities are there. Most people here have a healthy work/life balance, which is encouraged by management. I appreciate the flexibility they offer and feel valued as an employee.

    Cons

    Senior management changes the direction of leadership quite often, creating a swinging pendulum effect. When a system is working, they still think it needs to be "fixed" and end up breaking communication channels across teams and leaving no one in charge.

    7 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    In the bubble, a great place to work!

    Jun 24, 2009 - Marketing Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    During the bubble years, MSTR was great at giving responsibility to young people and supporting them as they figured things out. Education and training were exceptions - a 6 week technical bootcamp - that I was allowed to take as a Marketing Manager! Morale during the bubble was also great.

    Cons

    After the restatement and the techn bubble crash, senior management hunkered down and forgot to communicate with employees. The mission got muddled and to company lost its way for a while. Luckily, thoughout, there has been an extreme focus on ensuring the quality of the technology.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Used to be a good company for new college grads - not any more.

    Jun 26, 2008 - Senior Consultant in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people - MicroStrategy used to have a very rigorous hiring process, but in the last few years they've been struggling to hire and retain the best and the brightest. Some organizations within the company are more open in communication - I've worked in technology, sales and professional services organizations in MicroStrategy and like Professional Services the best.

    Cons

    Management does not care about employees - the benefits are well below average, no espp, stock options, bad health care plan. Technology organization is the worst managed in the entire company - the senior management thinks of technology as a cost center and fails to reward even the top performers. Moving out of Technology to other divisions within the organization is very tough and can take anywhere between 9 to 15 months after a formal request, by this time either the person who made the request has lost interest in moving and the opening in the other organization is filled.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews

Popular Careers with MicroStrategy Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MicroStrategy? Share Your Experiences

or