Micron Technology "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Micron Technology Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Micron Technology President and Chief Executive Officer  Sanjay Mehrotra
Sanjay Mehrotra
426 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "not very good work-life balance(in 165 reviews)

  • "The future of Micron's presence in Boise seems murky(in 87 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (27)

    "I love our company, I think you would too"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micron Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people. One thing you will find is that the vast majority (there will always be naysayers/pessimists) is that we are all rowing in the same direction. We are working together and making our business better. I know I can go to my peers, team, or other teams for assistance and support and it won't be a challenge or fight. Instead we will work to solve the problem or issue and do so together. The work, we are... not a sexy company in name recognition. However the work we do and the products we provide are critical to the technical innovation that happens every day on every continent. Without Micron's products the world would not be as technologically advanced as it is. We come to work knowing that what we do and accomplish enable the innovation of those working to make the world more accessible, cure previously incurable illnesses, solve problems thought to be impossible. It really is amazing to know we are a critical part of that. Lastly corporate responsibility. Micron is a global leader when it comes to corporate social responsibility. Whether it is from ethical sourcing, recycling, community engagement, charitable giving, human rights and treatment, and any other number of topics I know Micron is committed to being the best corporate citizen it can and it truly encourages us as team members to be the same.

    Show More

    Cons

    We are a global company, this means long days, nights, mornings, etc... as we work to collaborate with our peers, suppliers, customers around the world. We have, over the past 2 years, have seen a genuine emphasis on improving our work-life balance (2-3 years ago I would have rated this a 1). However, the realities of being multinational will require flexibility in your work schedule. The great news is we as leaders... are understanding and supportive of modified work schedules. The downside is that this will never be fully mitigated so if you are considering a career here, you should be aware that you may have days that start early, go late, or both to enable the effective collaboration of our global organization so don't be surprised by it. It can be difficult and challenging but it is getting better. I just never expect work-life balance to be our greatest strength.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with communicating the strategy and helping shift our culture. The changes since Sanjay took the CEO position are what we desperately needed to take Micron from a scrappy survivor to becoming a dominant and mature player in the semiconductor space.

    Micron Technology2019-06-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Micron Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micron Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Micron has done a phenomenal job improving it's culture over the last several years. Micron is definitely the best company I have worked for and they treat their employees very well.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons to working at Micron.

    Micron Technology2019-06-16
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Technician in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micron Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work place with good people. Lots of growth if you put in the effort. Benefits are great. Stock purchase program, Good health, lots of PTO.

    Cons

    There can be some backstabbing with the people that want to throw you under the bus to progress in the company because they dont have the skills necessary to move up the proper way.

    Micron Technology2019-12-09
  4. "Great focused Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Audit Manager in Boise, ID

    I worked at Micron Technology full-time

    Pros

    Very focused and professional company. Everyone was a pleasure to work with

    Cons

    Sometimes a maze as the company is very large. HOWEVER many tools and helpful folks to work through that.

    Micron Technology2019-12-07
  5. "They provided some great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Planner 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micron Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fair compensation for some and Great Benefits over all

    Cons

    Moving too many jobs overseas

    Micron Technology2019-12-05
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Biased to Bay Area / specific ethnicities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Micron Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company is driven, and has good technology, and is in a good industry that has consolidated for now.

    Cons

    No real opportunities to advance unless you are in the bay area. Former SanDisk employees get pick of jobs, and receive lofty titles. Very specific selection of nationalities for any significant position in the company.

    Advice to Management

    Look beyond former SanDisk employees, and beyond your specific nationality for talent. Remember that as you relocate the hq for the company, the bay area is very expensive. Don't forget that what you have done in the last 2 years is not even represented yet in the success of the company. What the company has done, and where it is today was created by those employees that came before you, including those in Boise.... Stop touting diversity and inclusion when all you do is hire from the same pool of SanDisk employees from your same ethnic background.

    Show More
    Micron Technology2019-12-04
  7. "Pass on this job if you're truly an accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Revenue Accountant in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Micron Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My supervisor was amazing and worked hard to make herself available to her staff. I also really enjoyed the autonomy of just being able to do my job without being micromanaged.

    Cons

    This is where it gets dicey. I wasn't at Micron for a long period of time, long enough to know that it was not what I wanted to do long term. If you're someone who needs a variety of tasks; this job isn't for you. If you're someone who wants to make a difference or has ideas about change management; this job is not for you. My job consisted of "managing" revenue for a sole distributor who did pretty much... whatever they wanted. This distributor is larger than Micron ever will be and Micron fails to see that this distributor will not adhere to Micron's ways. Rather than finding a solution or instituting any kind of change; we were just forced to go through meeting after meeting about how horrible this distributor was. Micron is not interested in a solution to their problem; instead they're just going to go through multiple accountants who will eventually realize that this is a dumpster fire that is never going to be put out....and they leave. That is just the Con about the job itself; there is a whole list of cons about the company overall. People talk about the longevity of the staff here but when you actually talk to these employees they all the say the same thing; that the work sucks and the company blows but Micron pays better than everyone else so they're enslaved by their paychecks. It's a very common theme here. So is there rank and file system. I was never made aware of their "forced ranking system" performance management system. Had I known about it, I wouldn't have considered the offer. That's an archaic way to manage people and all it does is instill mistrust and encourages competition among teammates instead of collaboration. This has been the most depressing environment I have ever worked in, and I've worked for the IRS if that tells you anything. The finance area is a sea of narrow, high walled, gray cubicles and there is zero natural light on this floor. No one really talks to each other because we're all viewed as competition and nothing about this place encourages collaboration which fits in well with the "every man for himself" mentality that is prevalent here. This isn't a company....it's the Hunger Games.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't ever start a conversation with "I've gotten feedback"; all that tells people is that you listen to gossip. Revisit your org structure. You have senior members who are familiar with a program and have worked out all the kinks and quirks, have them turn the smoothed out distributors over to the newer members and let them focus on handling the more challenging distributors. Handing a flaming bag of garbage to... a new guy and telling him to "make the system work for you" when he has no idea how the system works from top to bottom is just going to cost you more accountants in the long run. If you're burning through employees left and right, you need to realize there is a problem with the job itself. Throwing gasoline onto a fire isn't going to fix it.

    Show More
    Micron Technology2019-12-11
  8. "Product engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Micron Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best place in terms of work life balance

    Cons

    Not much actually. In the span of my 2 years never experienced any cons

    Micron Technology2019-11-28
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Process Technician in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micron Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are pay very well, the benefits are more than adequit, and the ability for upward movement is generally very achievable. There is also a very strong culture of safety and employee wellbeing.

    Cons

    Rotating shifts for technicians and engineers is pretty difficult. Every 4 months we rotate from days to nights and changing schedules like that can really affect life outside of work.

    Micron Technology2019-11-26
  10. "Lengthy But Must Read"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Manassas, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Micron Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits, possiblity of year end bonus, gym membership. If you are hourly, you can earn a lot in overtime.

    Cons

    Micron as a whole is reactionary rather than proactive which makes for frequent changes that are difficult to recover from. it preaches work life balance but the unspoken expectation is to work overtime to cover staffing issues. The company also preaches diversity and inclusion engagement in the employee resource groups but don't provide time for and punish participation "to meet business needs." The Manassas,... VA location has the most toxic culture of all sites. It's a unique pressure cooker of stress that does not exist in other sites. The employees throw each other under the bus to cover their mistakes, don't recognize hard work, are two-faced, don't have accountability, and overall are miserable from being over-worked. Managemet is so far removed from the Fabrication process that the expectations and attitudes are unforgiving. Promotions are only given to yes-men rather than those qualified for the position. Perception is more important than achievements. The pattern at Fab 6 is to push more responsibilities onto existing team members rather than backfill open positions. The extra effort is rarely rewarded and regonized. Currently, Fab 6 is in the middle of an expansion which has been bungled from the start. Rather than extending the parking lot or make a garage, make shift parking was made after construction started and more people were on sight. The added parking is dangerous which is made worse by driving behaviors. From talking to current and former employees, the overall sentimnet is they stay for the paycheck only.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    PRACTICE WHAT YOU PREACH. Fully staff the team to lessen the burden of existing employees so that they can all achieve success rather than burn out. Provide time for work life balance and to support employee resource groups. Don't hire managers just for promotion purposes but actually make sure they are ready and are qualified to be leaders. Provide supervisors time to actually advise and support the team rather... than overloading them with tasks from other positions. Provide department trainers on shift for Fab employees. Training on the job is impossible with the unreasonable expectations and pressure of manufacturing. The attention is focused on running the line and making moves rather than education and fostering success. Upper management presaches that they should escalate issues but middle management hides them rather than address them. Fab 6 says that issues can be escalated through each manager until the problem is solved but instead people are punished for jumping the approval queue. Actually retain talent rather than under-paying and over-working the talent you do have.

    Show More
    Micron Technology2019-12-07
Found 1881 reviews