Microsoft Analytics Consulting and Client Service Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft Reviews

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Incredible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Engineer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a challenging job but so rewarding and such a positive environment

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Microsoft2019-12-13
  2. Helpful (1599)

    "Thoughts after 10 years...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redmond, WA

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1. If you love tech, this is a great place. No doubt you'll talk tech (mostly the MSFT stack) from enterprise to consumer - from PCs to phones to Xboxes - from datacenter to desktop. 2. What were GREAT benefits are now VERY GOOD (took a small step down) but still probably better than you'll find at 99% of large corporations. If you've got family - the value of the benefits is even higher. 401k match is nice.... 3. Even with it's struggles MSFT is still a cash printing machine. This means if you can keep your nose clean and do reasonable work, you can have a stable job, pay your bills, feed your family, and not worry (too much) about layoffs. The stock you own likely won't tank, but probably won't go up much either. You'll get a bonus each year and some stock. It's a decent life if you aren't looking to light the world on fire.

    Show More

    Cons

    Brand on Your Resume: After many years of losing market share and struggling to be at the front end of innovation and the fact that there's 90,000 employees, don't think MSFT is necessarily going to be attractive on your resume to more agile and smaller companies. Managing Your Career: Make you say this out loud so it registers - 90,000 employees work there. Double that for vendors. It is VERY hard to "stand... out" and move up in the company. Don't expect your manager to be much of an advocate or enabler to help you meet your career goals - they are basically trying to survive the stack rank every year too. Not familiar with the stack rank? Check out the 2012 Vanity Fair article called "Microsoft's Lost Decade".

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'll type it here - but I don't they are listening... 1. Help proven talent move laterally in the company for new opportunities. 2. Kill/evolve the stack rank. Here's basically how it's viewed:. 30% of the company gets 1s and 2s - and they are happy. 50% get 3s and that basically feels like getting a "C" in school. This sucks for talented people when a multitude of UNCONTROLLABLE conditions keep you from... getting into 1 or 2 range. The 20% getting anything below a 3 are walking dead. In summary, 70% of the company walk away from the review cycle feeling like crap. This is no good. After 10 years, I'm leaving - it's just a matter of time until I find the right opportunity. I need to find a company spends 90% of it's time building technology experiences, as opposed to 90% of its time building PowerPoints. And I expect to refuse the exit interview - because if you really cared what I thought, you wouldn't ask me after I decided to leave.

    Show More
    Microsoft2013-01-29
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Program Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent Pay, great co workers, great work/life balance

    Cons

    Need to work out there culture. its not terrible compared to other tech companies but that doesn't mean it doesn't have a lot of work to do.

    Advice to Management

    provide a clearer path for career opportunities

    Microsoft2019-12-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is good. Nice people

    Cons

    Too much work. Long work hours

    Microsoft2019-12-09
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Lots of potential for movement

    Cons

    Dev operations can move a bit slow

    Microsoft2019-12-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, great benefits, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Outstanding benefits package (401k + ESPP and healthcare), lots of work-life flexibility, opportunity to move around the company frequently

    Cons

    Competitive pay but Stock awards lack compared to competitors, very large company so some projects move slowly

    Microsoft2019-12-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to build a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Smart people. Very interesting work.

    Cons

    Can be very political at higher levels. Reorganizations happen frequently and roles are eliminated impacting human beings.

    Advice to Management

    A lot of corporate intelligence is lost in eliminating roles. Great emphasis should be placed on retaining good talent when a role is eliminated. A lot of high quality talent as been lost.

    Microsoft2019-12-08
  8. "I get to recruit for a company that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My team, manager, program leaders, business leaders, and customers all care about the candidate experience, my development and that we hire the right candidates for the right reasons. I get to talk to some of the smartest people in the world and I get to hire people who want to come to Microsoft to help change the world of tech for the better.

    Cons

    Not a whole lot of cons.

    Advice to Management

    Always continue to improve managers and internal mobility.

    Microsoft2019-12-11
  9. "Great to work for, highly recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Balance, Pay, Benefits, Growth, CEO

    Cons

    Sporadic middle management, Diversity misalignment

    Microsoft2019-12-11
  10. "Chill place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, decent pay, good benefits

    Cons

    Not always good opportunities to work on new tech

    Microsoft2019-12-07
Found 20922 reviews