Microsoft Architect Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft Architect Reviews

Updated Jan 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great Company with a great direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior MTC Technical Architect in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, opportunities, career and company growth, intelligent co-workers

    Cons

    Can be pretty competitive, depending on your role your performance metrics can be nebulous, having a bad manager means you have a bad time, everyone is very busy and sometimes difficult to get in touch with.

    Microsoft2019-10-18
  2. "Discrimatory and Sexually Harassing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Solution Architect 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None Microsoft is not a good place to work they are highly unethical

    Cons

    Unethical, sexually harassing, discriminatory, unethical, compliance poor

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2020-01-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Better employer in the past"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Architect 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Learning, compensation, working with large organizations

    Cons

    Company seems to making a switch to contact staff instead of fulltime. A lot of positions (including mine) have been eliminated and replaced with contractors. Focus seems to be on cutting cost and stock price; employees are no longer valued and viewed as an asset.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2019-06-12
  4. "Solution Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work place, great food, free

    Cons

    None that I know of

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2019-05-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "simply the best and premier tech firm to be at ...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Solution Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    benefits are amazing, great work culture, cool technology. working in the cloud is very cutting edge. Microsoft is a leader in so many areas ! Microsoft is really hitting on all 8 cylinders and growth is amazing.

    Cons

    its a really big tech company easy to get lost in the shuffle. many technologies so you will have to pick and choose which ones to become an expert on.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2019-04-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Love the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lot of great projects to work on, great life-balance, especially compared to the competition, perks and prestige galore.

    Cons

    Only true geeks can really love the place - not really a con for me. Also it hasn't grown much in a decade so opportunities for promotions are really rather limited. Young ones and diversity candidates are definitely favored there - but regardless even if you are young and "diverse" and you really want to get to the top you will have a much better chance at a smaller fast growing company.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2018-09-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Incredibly Dysfunctional, Discriminatory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Azure Architect 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They pay well and their benefits are reasonably good.

    Cons

    I had such a fondness for Microsoft before working for them. Working for them cured that fondness, completely. The company is made up mostly of two kinds of people. Those that have been there forever and are expert at dodging responsibility and those that get used by those people. If you are a white male, run the other way as fast as you can. Microsoft is actively trying to 'cleanse' the company of white males. If you are not a white male you are 'diversity hire'... and they have goals to dramatically increase those. They wont say they are hoping to get rid of white males, but it's an inverse of myopically focusing on retaining everyone else. I've never met a more dishonest culture inside a company. The place is rife with two faced fake people. Sure there are some good people. But overwhelmingly the leadership is very veiled and sneaky. Prone to making abrupt and ill-informed decisions; which they can ultimately hide from the repercussions of or skillfully blame it on others. They seem to churn & burn a lot of people. This is probably a result of their bigger initiative to get rid of white men. But they also go out of their way to hire people that come from different backgrounds and then they try to pound them into being like everyone else at Microsoft. They literally sought me out for help, then told me how to do things. It's no wonder why Amazon is so much better at doing things than they are. They clamor to listen to Satya, which is ironic that his reports and ultimately the way the company runs is nothing like anything he says. Such as "Microsoft runs on trust." <-- this is perhaps the biggest joke them all. It's a lot like when people say "Let me be honest with you"...

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2018-08-22
  8. "A title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company with a lot of great people, and the luxury to invest in visions.

    Cons

    Big and sometimes very bureaucratic. Very afraid it cannot shake the reputation, aquired in the 90's and early 2000's of being evil.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2018-06-10
  9. "Maybe the best technology technology on the planet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enterprise Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Great environment, very supportive leadership, awesome locations. lots of passion regarding technology. the most fun place to work

    Cons

    very big company. takes awhile to get to know the right people

    Microsoft2018-02-28
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Cloud Solution Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Solution Architect in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Fantastic Benefits * Competitive Salary * Amazing people - Smartest people I have worked in 17 years of my professional life. * I get paid to learn new technology and get a chance to change the world through my customers.

    Cons

    I love the company and my team. No cons.

    Microsoft2018-01-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 173 reviews