Microsoft Cake Froster Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Cake Froster

Microsoft Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20588 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Amazing perks and community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Planner 

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The perks are great and everyone you meet is really helpful and intelligent, and focused on your individual growth. Plus your coworkers become like a community of friends

    Cons

    Campus is not close to the city so if you're going to live downtown, its a long commute

    Microsoft2019-10-13
  2. Helpful (1567)

    "Thoughts after 10 years...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redmond, WA

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1. If you love tech, this is a great place. No doubt you'll talk tech (mostly the MSFT stack) from enterprise to consumer - from PCs to phones to Xboxes - from datacenter to desktop. 2. What were GREAT benefits are now VERY GOOD (took a small step down) but still probably better than you'll find at 99% of large corporations. If you've got family - the value of the benefits is even higher. 401k match is nice.... 3. Even with it's struggles MSFT is still a cash printing machine. This means if you can keep your nose clean and do reasonable work, you can have a stable job, pay your bills, feed your family, and not worry (too much) about layoffs. The stock you own likely won't tank, but probably won't go up much either. You'll get a bonus each year and some stock. It's a decent life if you aren't looking to light the world on fire.

    Show More

    Cons

    Brand on Your Resume: After many years of losing market share and struggling to be at the front end of innovation and the fact that there's 90,000 employees, don't think MSFT is necessarily going to be attractive on your resume to more agile and smaller companies. Managing Your Career: Make you say this out loud so it registers - 90,000 employees work there. Double that for vendors. It is VERY hard to "stand... out" and move up in the company. Don't expect your manager to be much of an advocate or enabler to help you meet your career goals - they are basically trying to survive the stack rank every year too. Not familiar with the stack rank? Check out the 2012 Vanity Fair article called "Microsoft's Lost Decade".

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'll type it here - but I don't they are listening... 1. Help proven talent move laterally in the company for new opportunities. 2. Kill/evolve the stack rank. Here's basically how it's viewed:. 30% of the company gets 1s and 2s - and they are happy. 50% get 3s and that basically feels like getting a "C" in school. This sucks for talented people when a multitude of UNCONTROLLABLE conditions keep you from... getting into 1 or 2 range. The 20% getting anything below a 3 are walking dead. In summary, 70% of the company walk away from the review cycle feeling like crap. This is no good. After 10 years, I'm leaving - it's just a matter of time until I find the right opportunity. I need to find a company spends 90% of it's time building technology experiences, as opposed to 90% of its time building PowerPoints. And I expect to refuse the exit interview - because if you really cared what I thought, you wouldn't ask me after I decided to leave.

    Show More
    Microsoft2013-01-29
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - QA Analyst 

    I worked at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    It looks great on your resume

    Cons

    Expectation to work long hours

    Microsoft2019-10-11
  4. "Amazing and Awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales in Fargo, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the culture and the people here. We are always learning and have a can do attitude. The benefits are unmatched.

    Cons

    Can be overwhelming at first. You have so much to learn. However, expectations are real and not over the top.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you do! Management here is AMAZING!

    Microsoft2019-10-09
  5. "New graduate review on MSSE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    - club benefit - great salary - havent work for long

    Cons

    not at this moment that I could think of any cons

    Microsoft2019-10-09
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Experienced people you can work with

    Cons

    Slow pace in recent years.

    Microsoft2019-10-08
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Program Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Employee friendly; Focus on execution; Well oiled machine.

    Cons

    Tendency to jump on the latest bandwagon - product, culture, management mantra

    Advice to Management

    Foster risky, original & crazy ideas

    Microsoft2019-10-08
  8. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Designer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, Environment, Co-workers, Projects and Pay

    Cons

    Mistakes are not suffered lightly.

    Advice to Management

    Be kind to those going through tough, emotional times.

    Microsoft2019-10-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Guaynabo, PR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good culture, good products, customers love it

    Cons

    Too much pressure and low work life balance.

    Microsoft2019-10-04
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    - Wonderful culture of intellectual curiosity and mission-orientation coupled with results-orientation. So you feel great about changing the world for the better through empowering people with technology.

    Cons

    - Lots of decision are made in the corporate center but interesting role can be had in the field by forming great relationships in region and at HQ.

    Advice to Management

    You're a cut above. Keep it up.

    Microsoft2019-10-07
Found 20588 reviews