Microsoft Cambridge Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Best job ever"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Post Doctoral Researcher in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent environment for research. Excellent colleagues.

    Cons

    I cannot think of anything negative during my two years at Microsoft.

    Microsoft2020-01-15
  2. "Sr. Software Engineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sr Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, nice benefits and smart people

    Cons

    No disadvantages to mention so far

    Microsoft2020-01-14
  3. "Sr. Software Engineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sr Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place, great people and fun things to do

    Cons

    No disadvantages so far to mention

    Microsoft2020-01-13
  4. "Company Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy doing my internship at Microsoft, the people there where all nice and helpful. At first I was afraid because it a big company but then I got comfortable

    Cons

    As an intern, It was really Microsoft itself but the fact that I had other jobs aside for that but it was quite stressful

    Microsoft2019-12-06
  5. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer-II in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Extremely interesting project a very large scale. Benefits. Ability to move teams but ... Great work life balance.

    Cons

    ... ability to move teams within the Redmond area mostly. Big gap in culture between people in the Redmond area vs people in Cambridge.

    Microsoft2019-06-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great work atmosphere at Cambridge location"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist II in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Colleagues are very friendly and sharp, competent people: many are recent graduates of local colleges and graduate programs. There is a great work atmosphere cultivated by leadership that has been with this department since it was acquired from Nokia years ago. There are opportunities to make a name for yourself and expand your skill set with challenging projects, but also tolerance for us older folks who need to prioritize a work-life balance at some point in their career. (And perhaps for that reason, this group has a better gender ratio and more parents than most companies or other divisions of Microsoft.) Open to occasional remote work.

    Cons

    Many colleagues who have been with the department a while are now at a senior level and have a hard time advancing further within the company. (There are only so many opportunities for management or high-level independent contributor positions, and even fewer are at the Boston office specifically.) It's a testament to the atmosphere of the team and the quality of the projects that these folks stick around. Not a problem if you are planning to come in at entry level and OK with potentially switching companies after a few years.

    Microsoft2019-04-16
  7. "Good place to learn fundamentals"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Software Engineer II in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Was my first software engineering position out of college. I benefitted a lot from feedback from more senior engineers and learned good industry practices including things like writing technical designs, giving useful code review feedback, and writing decoupled and testable code. I felt like it prepared me well to take on my next technical role. Also, got to work on some interesting problems while also having pretty good work-life balance

    Cons

    Sometimes teams can be a little siloed (even feature teams working on the same product) and there can be a lack of communication which results in some wasted effort or different components of a project not cleanly coming together

    Microsoft2019-04-15
  8. "Enjoyable work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work is often enjoyable. Great side perks like backup childcare and fairly happy team.

    Cons

    Can be frustrating to deal with the politics and bureaucracy.

    Microsoft2018-11-16
  9. "Great!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values