Microsoft Electrical Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Electrical Engineer

Microsoft Electrical Engineer Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Compensation lower than its competitors

    Microsoft2019-07-09
  2. "One of the best companies I've been to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Microsoft part-time

    Pros

    High pay, friendly coworkers, and easy networking

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons

    Microsoft2019-09-18
  3. "Steep Learning Curve, Unlimited Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Electrical Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As one of the largest companies in the world, Microsoft can afford to compensate well and has no issue providing the resources needed for success. The company culture is healthy being lead by an executive team that has values beyond revenue. Growth potential is only limited by personal ambition and ability.

    Cons

    Understanding the social politics and bureaucracy of such a large company with long established leaders can be difficult. Introverted or quiet people may find it difficult to find the right human resources and succeed without the right manager. Sometimes reorganizations are executed without a clear message or purpose.

    Microsoft2019-09-13
  4. "Great opportunities for young hardware engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer II in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small yet highly talented HW engineering community: I was surrounded by exceptionally bright and capable coworkers, I learned a lot from multiple mentors. Exciting Hardware projects: Surface, Xbox, Hololens are all big in SVC, tons of exciting, technically challenging work to cut your teeth on. Good work-life balance and perks (at Silicon Valley campus) including fitness classes led by instructors, catered... bfast/lunch, and dinners when staying late (depends on org). Travel opportunities: Redmond, international partners, China, etc. Good benefits: 401k matching, employee stock purchase discount, yearly fitness equipment reimbursement, PRIME card, commuter card.

    Show More

    Cons

    Many, many layers of management - expect 6-9 layers of management between you and CEO - making it difficult for cultural changes to trickle down through the org. Because of the many layers, a lot of your day-to-day depends on your direct manager. Mitigated by ease of moving internally. Program manager heavy - many PM's overseeing schedule, but over the 4 years that I was there, I saw the same scheduling... mistakes occur constantly. Redmond calls the shots. If you're at a satellite campus and want to pitch program/project ideas, you will be flying into Seattle a lot.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you are serious about cultural changes, make sure they do trickle down.

    Microsoft2019-01-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Solid comfortable place to work, positive culture, surrounded by high-achievers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Electrical Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Respect for the individual, constant stressing of core cultural values of letting everyone be heard, etc. Decent work/life balance, though it's hugely dependent on the individual to enforce. Individuals are encouraged to engage with managers at any level (for example with your manager's manager's manager...). There's a general high-level of passion for the products we make.

    Cons

    Loose on process, heavy on PM's to compensate. Compensation is middle-of-the-pack. And we're still compensated on a curve, even if the compensation policy claims there's no ranking.

    Advice to Management

    Be careful with forced distribution of compensation. Given the concentration of talent, the person near the bottom is still an excellent contributor and you'd hate to lose that person.

    Microsoft2018-11-19
  6. "Good Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of good people to work with

    Cons

    Doesn't have enough young leaders

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing new technologies

    Microsoft2018-05-20
  7. "Senior Electrical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Electrical Design Engineer in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Microsoft for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Advanced design technology Strong engineering staff Easy commute Best working conditions Good equipments

    Cons

    Complicated management Long working hours Not sufficient technology updates Not enough fund for equipment Not enough engineering group communications.

    Microsoft2018-04-12
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good company, but not very exciting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Electrical Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are ok, but not excellent. Job is generally stable, with only occasional layoffs. Some teams have a lot of travel and time spent in China.

    Cons

    Lots of reorgs and instability. Some teams have a lot of travel and time spent in China. Stock bonus plan is poor compared to competitors. No free food like other tech giants. Engineering work is not very innovative or cutting edge. Very schedule driven, but not customer focused or quality focused. Many decisions are made by project managers who do not understand the technology they are managing.

    Advice to Management

    Employees are critical to the success of Microsoft, GM's and VP's that refuse to even try to get to know the people on their teams shows how little regard they have for their staff.

    Microsoft2018-03-06
  9. "Electrical engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Electrical Engineer in Redmond, WA

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    good place to work for millenials

    Cons

    none none none none none none

    Microsoft2017-09-08
  10. "Electrical engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great company to work for. Great people and compensation

    Cons

    Might not find what you really want to pursue as a career

    Microsoft2015-11-04
Found 15 reviews