Microsoft Engagement Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft Engagement Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great benefits & professional development with stack ranking issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engagement Manager in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Employee Benefits Top Brand Bonus Stock Awards

    Cons

    Your manager can make or break you Lots of Bureaucracy at higher levels

    Advice to Management

    People make the company great. Reward those who collaborate with others vs. those who steal the spotlight.

    Microsoft2017-09-07
  2. "Engagment Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engagement Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You get to learn and grow from some seriously smart leaders

    Cons

    Politics and priority setting hinders IC performance

    Advice to Management

    Stop pigeon holing talent. Take risks on people and move them around

    Microsoft2017-06-16
  3. "Engagement manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engagement Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work conditions with great earning potential; great culture and pride to work here

    Cons

    Pressure to produce; adapt or drown

    Microsoft2016-12-03
  4. "Exceptional, fast paced, great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engagement Manager in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exposure to exceptional talent in a passionate work environment. Customers were highly motivated to engage with our team to drive value and Return on Investment.

    Cons

    The pace that was required to meet quarterly earnings expectations were, at times out of sync with our market segments sales cycle. This created unintended sales negotiations mistakes that did not favor either side.

    Microsoft2016-03-12
  5. "Senior Engagement Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engagement Manager in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked as the only one on my team in iowa, a lot of freedom to work your plan.

    Cons

    Quotas go up every year by 20%.

    Advice to Management

    You finally have the right CEO!!

    Microsoft2015-10-13
  6. "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engagement Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work for awhile

    Cons

    Strange people to work with

    Advice to Management

    Buck up

    Microsoft2015-03-27
  7. "Microsoft is an interesting place to work right now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engagement Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft

    Pros

    Name recognition, healthcare benefits, internal training and ultimately incredible softskill training as well. Microsoft truly offers terrific career advancements and produces superior management training skill sets.

    Cons

    It is a very large and complex organization. If you are not on the product side of the engine, you are somewhat considered less adequate as the rest. Right now they are currently going through a LOT of reorganizational changes and as a result are having a lot of cut backs. That said, many jobs are being cut based on Role, Function or Group as a new fiscal year approaches at the end of June.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the field and become more agile with the ability to adapt the current market needs and demands.

    Microsoft2009-05-15
  8. "Great overall experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engagement Manager in Zagreb
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, overall great company culture, endless learning opportunities and resources

    Cons

    Hard to move between seemingly different jobs, too many meetings, unoptimized processes

    Microsoft2019-02-03
  9. "Engagement Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager in Ho Chi Minh City
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The role is a fantastic opportunity that I have got to make a difference, make my mark, achieve success and transform the market. I am proud of what I have achieved and feel positive that the recent changes to the operating model of the role will bring more opportunity to make positive contributions to the company, customers and partners

    Cons

    The Software Asset Management & Compliance Engagement manager has to pay a very pivotal role in ensuring that the right level of constructive tension is created to gain attention from the customer and motivate them towards the solution. Its like salt to food. Over use will be disastrous and will ruin the appetite. under usage may render your food boring and tasteless.

    Advice to Management

    Knowing when to use and how to use this role is a delegate skill and wisdom. The role player must always have the right intent and follow the basic principles. Compromising them will make the role useless.

    Microsoft2018-02-12
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Not what I thought it would be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engagement Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big name on your CV Competitive remuneration package

    Cons

    Chronically detached management. There's a good chance you manager will have absolutely no idea what your team does because they're a professional manager, not an expert in their field. The feeling that a lot of what you're targeted with doing would happen anyway whether you were there or not. A lot of people that work at Microsoft are rather up themselves about the fact that they work for Microsoft. Ridiculous Microsoftspeak...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Every level of management at Microsoft sucks up mercilessly to the one above it because that's the person that decides your bonus. Man up a bit to constructive criticism and end the rabid favoritism that is sadly endemic to the organization.

    Microsoft2018-01-08
Found 22 reviews