Microsoft Government Service Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Government Service Intern

Microsoft Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Microsoft is a great place to work and has a great work-life balance.

    Cons

    As with most company there is some politics to deal with.

    Microsoft2019-12-04
  2. Helpful (1596)

    "Thoughts after 10 years...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redmond, WA

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1. If you love tech, this is a great place. No doubt you'll talk tech (mostly the MSFT stack) from enterprise to consumer - from PCs to phones to Xboxes - from datacenter to desktop. 2. What were GREAT benefits are now VERY GOOD (took a small step down) but still probably better than you'll find at 99% of large corporations. If you've got family - the value of the benefits is even higher. 401k match is nice.... 3. Even with it's struggles MSFT is still a cash printing machine. This means if you can keep your nose clean and do reasonable work, you can have a stable job, pay your bills, feed your family, and not worry (too much) about layoffs. The stock you own likely won't tank, but probably won't go up much either. You'll get a bonus each year and some stock. It's a decent life if you aren't looking to light the world on fire.

    Show More

    Cons

    Brand on Your Resume: After many years of losing market share and struggling to be at the front end of innovation and the fact that there's 90,000 employees, don't think MSFT is necessarily going to be attractive on your resume to more agile and smaller companies. Managing Your Career: Make you say this out loud so it registers - 90,000 employees work there. Double that for vendors. It is VERY hard to "stand... out" and move up in the company. Don't expect your manager to be much of an advocate or enabler to help you meet your career goals - they are basically trying to survive the stack rank every year too. Not familiar with the stack rank? Check out the 2012 Vanity Fair article called "Microsoft's Lost Decade".

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'll type it here - but I don't they are listening... 1. Help proven talent move laterally in the company for new opportunities. 2. Kill/evolve the stack rank. Here's basically how it's viewed:. 30% of the company gets 1s and 2s - and they are happy. 50% get 3s and that basically feels like getting a "C" in school. This sucks for talented people when a multitude of UNCONTROLLABLE conditions keep you from... getting into 1 or 2 range. The 20% getting anything below a 3 are walking dead. In summary, 70% of the company walk away from the review cycle feeling like crap. This is no good. After 10 years, I'm leaving - it's just a matter of time until I find the right opportunity. I need to find a company spends 90% of it's time building technology experiences, as opposed to 90% of its time building PowerPoints. And I expect to refuse the exit interview - because if you really cared what I thought, you wouldn't ask me after I decided to leave.

    Show More
    Microsoft2013-01-29
  3. "Event Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Planner in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I got valuable experience and knowledge, which helps me a lot for my future job.

    Cons

    I got burned and overwhelmed at this job.

    Microsoft2019-12-03
  4. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Cloud Solution Architect in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    I love the challenging collaborative atmosphere.

    Cons

    Management can be hit or miss. There are some great managers, but the managers who are not up to par don't get weeded out.

    Microsoft2019-12-02
  5. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Program Manager 

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, Culture, and great Location

    Cons

    On-call (possibly) Slow moving 'Old-school' parts of the company

    Microsoft2019-12-02
  6. "Love Microsoft"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We are solving large, world-class problems that scale globally. The people we work with are very smart and generally willing to lean in and help get this job done in an inclusive and team environment.

    Cons

    We tend to specialize early on and get stuck in that specialty with not much room to switch roles without conflict.

    Microsoft2019-12-02
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Support Escalation Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Company with Great People and Benefits

    Cons

    I dont have any Cons at this moment

    Advice to Management

    NA at this moment

    Microsoft2019-12-02
  8. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager 

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Company to work for

    Cons

    Not enough work days during the week

    Microsoft2019-12-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Vice President in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Growth mindset culture, focused on customers, technical innovation, prizes doing the right thing

    Cons

    matrix environment. you must love and be able to work in the matrix. very commercial focused, hard on consumer ambition.

    Microsoft2019-11-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work - just don't get obsessed with promotion velocity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineering Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance compared to other high-profile Seattle tech companies.

    Cons

    Collaboration between business units can be hard.

    Advice to Management

    Cool the pressure for everyone to get promoted faster than the previous person. The newest crop of college hires are nearly starting to refuse to do work unless it's a promotion obtainer for them. We got to fix the culture such that all work is important enough for promotion.

    Microsoft2019-11-26
Found 20879 reviews