Microsoft HR Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft HR Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager 

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work and build a career!

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Microsoft2019-07-31
  2. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good base pay; job is a cake walk

    Cons

    Managers that like to micromanage

    Microsoft2019-11-11
  3. "Copy the Competition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The brand equity of Microsoft on your resume

    Cons

    Constantly overworked, under-staffed retail stores, most decisions are a reaction rather than strategic planning.

    Advice to Management

    Stop constantly comparing everything to Apple in comms to your employees and the public.

    Microsoft2019-10-30
  4. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits! Lots of resources to support you in your role.

    Cons

    Performance model can cause some interesting behaviors

    Microsoft2019-10-12
  5. Helpful (3)

    "On the right track"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources/Recruiting in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Culture is becoming more transparent, authentic & vulnerable. New projects are exciting, high energy Leadership is working to be more self-accountable Stock price

    Cons

    Lots of room to still grow. Still significant favoritism and politicking Inconsistent middle management, misalignment between leadership layers

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time with middle and lower level employees. The disconnect between layers of leadership is slowing progress

    Microsoft2019-04-12
  6. "Facts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance!

    Cons

    Capabilities of leadership depending on the leader can be an opportunity.

    Microsoft2019-04-04
  7. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salaries, lots of connections to more specific IT businesses

    Cons

    Process heavy so not as dynamic

    Advice to Management

    Stay in your own lane.

    Microsoft2019-03-28
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Benefits are great as well as the culture

    Cons

    Work life balance does not exist but you need to set your own pace to find it.

    Microsoft2019-02-21
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Horrible, toxic and overly political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Manager in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and salary Tasty subsidized food at almost every cafe on campus Excellent for employees with children ( most managers are super flexible on work schedule) Incredibly intelligent business leaders-(specifically within engineering)

    Cons

    I don't even know where to begin. As a seasoned HR professional, I am appalled at the bait and switch strategy that was used to get me to join Microsoft. I have over 7 years of strategic HR Management experience within the tech space and left an amazing company/team/boss to make one of the worst decisions of my life. I was told coming in that I would supposedly be doing "big" things, but I quickly realized that I... was just another cog in a big wheel. I spent the majority of my time (90 percent) writing emails to people about what I might do to get buy-in and permission rather than spending time actually executing. Overall, the organization is filled with gossipy, rest and vest types. I also witnessed a very bright young African American female employee verbally abused and viciously bullied by her manager while senior leaders turned a blind eye. For all of you out there, I would think long and hard before joining the HR function at Microsoft. Don’t say that you weren’t warned.

    Show More
    Microsoft2019-02-15
  10. "Had a good run but I grew apart and my connection with the company grew weak"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Director in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great compensation, you work with super smart people, good health insurance. If in the right team amazing opportunities for having impact

    Cons

    The HR function is fatigued with so much change and layoffs. Plus there is less space to focus on proactive ways to add value to the people you support as the change management and lay offs are constant

    Advice to Management

    The company is taking a great direction to continue with strength in the market. However the amount of change and layoffs has taken a big toll. There is a need for some baseline to be the foundation so people can really focus on their best work vs. waiting to be laid off

    Microsoft2018-05-16
Found 77 reviews