Microsoft Reviews in Irving, TX | Glassdoor

Microsoft Irving Reviews

Updated 27 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Post Sale Support Tier III in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits good pay overall fun environment one of the best companies to work for l

    Cons

    None the company is great

    Microsoft2019-01-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Contractors not treated as peers and Monitored like Prisoners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Tech Support Engineer in Irving, TX

    I worked at Microsoft

    Pros

    Physical Location/building is nice.

    Cons

    Contractors openly treated as a subclass. When a contractor sends a direct message to a single person, unknown to the contractor the FTE's on your team are monitoring all your messages. This stifles information exchange. Contractors are openly excluded from Social activities held during regular work hours even those held on-sight. It's much worse during the holidays when off-site activities are posted, photos...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat contractors as equals. Concentrate on our end product rather than invading our personal (online) space by broadcasting our text messages to the entire team. It's not right.

    Microsoft2019-06-28
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Average Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The salary and benefits are great

    Cons

    Discrimination of women and minorities

    Microsoft2019-05-09
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Support Escalation Engineer position in CSS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Support Escalation Engineer in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, one gets to work with smart and extraordinary people. One can develop a deep understanding of specific Microsoft Technologies.

    Cons

    Constant reorgs, radical diversity hiring philosophy, management decisions go from one extreme to another, no real middle ground. Tier 1 managers don't manage. Lots of back stabbing due to the stack ranking review process.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the constant reorgs, have tier one/two managers actually manage, go to a more rational diversity hiring plan. Don't allow empire building among corporate executives at the expense of customers and employees.

    Microsoft2018-10-29
  5. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Engineer in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a great company!

    Cons

    I have no cons for Microsoft!

    Microsoft2018-06-18
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Support Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Engineer in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, happy, cherry colleagues, very decent pay

    Cons

    Leadership is not honest, there is a battle of the blue badges vs the orange badges. MS does not hire you directly they use an agency and you are a permanent temp.

    Advice to Management

    Speak up for your employees. Take the time to get to know them and be honest. Don't lie on an employee, and think it will not affect their status. New employees feel ill at ease due to leadership stabbing you in the back.

    Microsoft2018-05-16
  7. "Probably not the best but not the worst either"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Premier Field Engineer in Irving, TX

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of different opportunities. Some good perks, depending on your position.

    Cons

    Very competitive environment. Only as valuable as your last review.

    Microsoft2018-03-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "If you get an offer as a contractor just run away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    Unfortunately, I can't think of one so I would say none!

    Cons

    Let's say almost everything except the fact that you get a salary at the end of the week. I was hired as a contractor to help the Bing team in the Dallas office. I couldn't even finish my 18months contract because I felt so uncomfortable working there. First of all, you get hired to be completely invisible! I would spend days without getting any project and without speaking to anybody from the team. Nobody will communicate...

    Show More
    Microsoft2018-03-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good working environment with smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good learning and working environment. Good people. Good payment. Growth. You can be the expert for the product. If you want to learn you can access to many resources.

    Cons

    Focus on one specific aspect of product. Don’t have a chance to access other aspects. If you stop learning you will not learn new things.

    Microsoft2017-12-15
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great benefits & professional development with stack ranking issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engagement Manager in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Employee Benefits Top Brand Bonus Stock Awards

    Cons

    Your manager can make or break you Lots of Bureaucracy at higher levels

    Advice to Management

    People make the company great. Reward those who collaborate with others vs. those who steal the spotlight.

    Microsoft2017-09-07
Found 62 reviews