Microsoft Kansas City Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to build a career with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Technology Strategist in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong growth potential with fun with environment

    Cons

    Travel can be heavy at times

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2019-08-31
  2. "Treat associates better than managers"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great benefits with the company

    Cons

    accountability for associates is lenient, but for managers can get fired for anything. Senior leaders one on ones are non-existant

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2020-05-20
  3. "Great Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SERVICE ADVISOR in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing. Culture is great.

    Cons

    Work life balance is nonexistent.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2019-06-13
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Highly Political"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Technology, benefits, nice offices

    Cons

    Your success is driven completely by the local DM / RM

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2019-04-24
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Field Sales Roles"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growth Oriented Company, Good strategy for Digital transformation

    Cons

    Weak field sales leadership, "farmer" mentality, inadequate comp plan for sales professionals

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2017-12-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Bad managers, good company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Advisor in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benifits, free phone, tablet, there was nothing good about this place outside of the free stuff.

    Cons

    Managers are just rediculous. And staff is two faced. They tell you to go to them if you need help, when they secretly report to managers about anything and everything you do. Do not trust anyone here. Asinine writeups for things they do countless times, such as a manager daily would drop the F bomb multiple times a day and say other bad words as well, when we get written up for an accidental slip up swear. Manager asked me if she wasn't putting out after I had a conversation with my female friend. If I said this about their husband or wife, I'd be fired instantly. Manager would constantly harass me for asking questions when first starting employment, then get angry that I asked questions, just wanted to make sure I did my job correct. (I have aspergers) When I confronted the manager who harassed me I was told I'm not thinking growth mindset and It's my job.... it's my job to be harassed because I asked questions? Terrible. I have two jobs. Working 6 am and Microsoft all the way till 10 pm. They would hold me later at night because they wouldn't have their stuff together and would make people go on overtime when they aren't even suppose to. Very unorganized. So I get 5 hours of sleep because they fail at their jobs? Manager also would complain I wasn't following the steps of service... which I did by the book, got a 10/10 review as well as a full attachment item. And they still complain, never would they try and give positive feedback. When I asked about the feedback problem why they are always negative, they say I can't take constructive criticism. It's always negative, even if you do things right. Over 70% of the employees there hate it, and are only there because of the company benifits. Most are looking for a new job. Manager would make non racial problems into racial problems because of insecurities. I was discriminated agaisnt, and even told them of my aspergers before applying to the job. One thing that really blows my mind.. they tell you to enforce a no chair policy when sitting near xbox section. When I enforced this policy, the customer was unhappy about it and I was written up for "talking bad against the customer" When I never said any word to him. All I did was ask a manager if they needed to be moved to confirm what they told me before. This place is a joke, the turnover and employees is a joke, they leave and get fired because this place is run by jokes. Retail management wad the worst here than any other place I worked for.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2016-12-01
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good benefits and fun environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Advisor in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits here are great for both full and part time employees. Fun place to work even on the busiest days. Even the store meetings are fun. And for the first 3 years I was there, it didn't feel like I was just working retail - it felt like I was part of something bigger and a lot better.

    Cons

    We had a change in management at my location and the turnover rate spiked. For a long time, the most common reason employees left was a promotion within the company. But I saw more people leave last summer than I'd seen in the 3 years we'd been open. I can't speak for everyone, but for me, it was depressing to check my work email after a few days off to find out another co-worker was "no longer with the team". By the time I left, it no longer felt like I was part of something bigger; it was just another retail store with a revolving door of employees. It's hard to feel like you're part of a team when your "teammates" change several times a month. There were other changes I disliked, but it's difficult to explain those without getting too specific and losing any anonymity Glassdoor may give me. If I had left a year earlier, this review would be 4 stars and my only complaint would have been the lack of communication among managers. But seeing things change the way the did has left me disappointed.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2016-04-10