Microsoft Manager Finance Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft Finance Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was a great company to work for and had awesome and experienced peers.

    Cons

    I think it really depends what team you're on.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on getting more lean.

    Microsoft2019-10-04
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, location, accessibility, image, CEO

    Cons

    Bad Middle Management, unethical stds

    Microsoft2019-08-30
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager 

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people. Challenging work. Great environment.

    Cons

    Long hours. Some micro-managing occurs

    Microsoft2019-07-18
  4. "Learnings galore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity with a growth mindset.

    Cons

    Lots of cliques. Very political

    Microsoft2019-07-06
  5. "Interesting work, poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Manager in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay vs other companies, respect for diversity on my team and area, nice colleagues, not a hard-charging atmosphere. Seem to promote the right people. Flexible approach to work schedules

    Cons

    Work life balance is extremely challenging. There is always more work to do, always fire drills. The only time I can get my work done is outside of working hours (before 9 am, after 5 pm, weekends).

    Microsoft2019-07-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Place to Work - Culture and Strategy Can't Be Beat!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Finance Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Leadership, Culture, Strategy, Co-workers, Environment

    Cons

    Extremely competitive to get to Director level and above

    Microsoft2019-05-16
  7. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I like the flexibility in working hours and this is one of the most motivating factor I am working here.

    Cons

    Sometime personal interaction lacks as a result

    Microsoft2019-04-16
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Drinking the Kool Aid!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Its an amazing company doing amazing things. I feel very proud to be an employee. Coming from a more traditional industry I feel completely spoiled here. I laugh at some of the people who complain. They have no clue.

    Cons

    Onboarding is for an experienced hire is pretty much a nightmare. If you're not a person who is capable of figuring it out on your own, it may not be the right fit. I also feel like while its a large company with amazing operations, if I feel like I took a step back in my career. I went from having a great breadth of experience to specializing in a small niche of the company's operations, which does not initially... feel that fulfilling.

    Show More
    Microsoft2019-03-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging and intellectually stimulating work, lots of smart people, great compensation/benefits package

    Cons

    part of the liberal bubble, too focused on hitting diversity quotas to the detriment of hiring the best candidate for the position

    Advice to Management

    With all the talk about D&I and allowing every employees' voice to be heard and feeling like they belong, it seems like that does not extend to conservative minded employees. You can have your voice heard and feel like you belong only if you align with the liberal majority, or else you'll be ostracized and ridiculed.

    Microsoft2019-03-05
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Honestly Pretty Shocked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Satya Nadella is a truly spectacular leader, as well as Phil Spencer. I honestly loved working for both of them and knew that what I was contributing to was an inspiring vision and mission! The benefits at Microsoft are outstanding, the events are a blast and are a fantastic motivator throughout the year , the opportunities for growth and diversity in your job... some of the best I’ve ever seen. Microsoft also is in... a serious growth phase so it’s an exciting time to be a part of the organization!

    Show More

    Cons

    I’m still pretty shocked at my experience since day 1. I’ll try to leave emotion out of it and share the historical events that occurred to remain truthful and not exaggerate. When I first came in as an MBA here, I was brought into my dream finance role. 24 hours after joining, my manager went on paternity leave for about 8 weeks. I heard from him a couple of times in that timeframe and that was about it. I got... started working on some onboarding projects and everything was more or less fine. My office was on the other side of the building so I didn’t get to sit next to my team for the first 7 months. My teammates never really came by to say hi so it was tough to build new relationships with them, having to walk over constantly to try to connect. After my manager returned, he only talked to me a handful of times. I’d say I sat in about 8 hours worth of 1-1’s over my whole year there. I never received a performance review or feedback on a single project. I never received a quarterly or year end performance review. I never heard that I did well, but was reassured that that wasn’t my manager’s style. He’s never really one to say “good job”. Not great management. I never felt like I was wanted in that role, and I heard from numerous people that I was placed in that role by a recruiter and was never actually placed in an open role and thus I wasn’t really wanted from day 1. Now for the part that I still am just in shock around. In my organization, I was the only white person. About 3 different times, in team meetings, jokes were made about how I wouldn’t understand something or couldn’t relate because I was white and not Asian/middle eastern. I just brushed it off and laughed, but felt like I experienced a form of racism that I had never felt before. Having not felt like part of the team ever and then had them make jokes about my race at my expense... it really didn’t feel good. But, because I’m Caucasian and not something else, if never felt like I could say anything about it because it’s Seattle and many people believe racism against Caucasian people isn’t possible. I would disagree based on my experience. At the end of my time, after declaring I was leaving, I never heard from a single HR rep. I had so much I needed to share and I didn’t even get an email about my departure. Nothing. Zero. No form of exit interview. No goodbye. Nothing. So now I’m sharing this all here because I didn’t get to share it internally. It was the strangest exit I’ve ever had. The moral is: people leave managers, not companies. Microsoft is a spectacular company, but my management experience was really, really poor and HR really dropped the ball here. I was so sad too having come into my dream job and feeling unwanted completely from day 1. I would’ve stayed if even one person showed that they cared in the least. I had shared this with multiple friends there on my last day who had been there for years and they were in utter disgust and shocked that HR had never reached out. They reached out on my behalf and even that didn’t trigger a response. I’m just really shocked and sad. I was really excited to build a career at Microsoft and chose to leave due to this experience.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on training your managers to be true managers, builders and shapers of people. Make sure your people are heard.

    Microsoft2018-09-15
Found 109 reviews