Microsoft Manager IT Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft IT Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great company, right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The new Microsoft is moving in the right direction. Great benefits, great people.

    Cons

    Review process needs work. Many times you're being rewarded either months after the fact, or your management is performing calibration well before the year which you're being compensated for is even completed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing the edge. The new technologies and devices are working, we need more. We need to push the mobile envelope now or we will be come irrelevant.

    Microsoft2016-11-21
  2. "IT Management Lacks Personal Communications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to learn something new.

    Cons

    IT management is missing inter-personal skills and limit their verbal communications and rely on email to communicate to staff. Certain staff should remain as Techs & Engineers and should not have been placed in positions overseeing staff.

    Advice to Management

    Take seminars on "How to Work With People".

    Microsoft2019-02-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Censorship against conservatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the pay is great and vacation time is great!

    Cons

    the thing about this company they hate conservatives. you say you love trump and they give you a look like theres no tomorrow.

    Microsoft2018-10-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Know What Your're Getting Into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Program Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Industry leading company, good benefits, competitive salary, intelligent/driven employees

    Cons

    Cutthroat workplace environment, annual review/rewards cycle, team/organization/group politics

    Advice to Management

    Microsoft needs to make ongoing progress towards shifting the workplace culture away from teams/individuals competing against one another and focus this energy into developing a collaborative culture where teams are working towards shared goals/objectives/outcomes.

    Microsoft2017-10-10
  5. "IT PM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people were nice to work with

    Cons

    I worked 50+ hours a week

    Microsoft2017-02-14
  6. "project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Miami, FL

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    manage all kind of it projects

    Cons

    to many distance from my home

    Advice to Management

    manage all kinds of it projects

    Microsoft2017-02-05
  7. "You work with smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior IT Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft

    Pros

    Benefits, Flexible work schedule, Innovative

    Cons

    Long work days, occasional bad manger will kill your career

    Microsoft2015-09-24
  8. "IT Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is the best company in the world

    Cons

    long hours and low pay long hours

    Advice to Management

    try to respect others life and work balance and their family lives are important too

    Microsoft2015-08-25
  9. "Great Benifits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior IT Program Manager in Redmond, WA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. People are highly intelligent and a great environment to work in.

    Cons

    Constantly changing management direction made it difficult to fully understand career goals. This was due to my immediate manager and director. This is not your 9-5 place to work. You are expected to continue to work into the evenings and weekends.

    Microsoft2015-07-17
  10. "Sr. IT Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Program Manager in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, pretty good pay and great experience.

    Cons

    VERY political, management seem to only look out for themselves. They say they don't stack rank, but they still do and no matter what you do, if they need to get rid of the bottom 5 or 10% they will find a way to make it your fault even if you are doing a great job.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest, invest in your team, don't stack rank, it only makes people want to work against each other and not work as a team.

    Microsoft2015-06-18
Found 27 reviews