Microsoft Marketing Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Marketing Manager

Microsoft Marketing Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 400 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "would recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager 

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Work Life Balance is great

    Cons

    There are Bureaucratic processes at times

    Microsoft2019-07-07
  2. "Microsoft experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Redmond, WA

    I worked at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place, culture, collaborative and medium paced

    Cons

    Low probability and to progress from a vendor role to full time No growth potential as a vendor

    Microsoft2019-07-26
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Great culture is a core key of this company

    Cons

    The hierarchical structure is hard to work with

    Microsoft2019-07-10
  4. "Marketing Manager Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager 

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    cool products, lots of work to be done, lots of budget

    Cons

    hierarchy - not a flat structure at all, everyone works in silos

    Microsoft2019-06-27
  5. "Have enjoyed my time here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I love the people I get to work with Great Benefits Salary for marketing is competitive Feel like if I don't like my current role that there's an opportunity for moving internally. Every team has its own personality, so you can find a team that's right for you internally!

    Cons

    Some (but not all) of the buildings are nice. Not a fan of open workspace though and that's the direction they're moving in for all new buildings Can be VERY political. Have to know how to play the game There is a LOT of bloat in certain teams (like M365 team) so if you work with/for them, it can get exhausting trying to get anything done since you have to work with so many stakeholders

    Microsoft2019-06-12
  6. "As promised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Seattle, WA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great company

    Cons

    Big and political, complex environment

    Microsoft2019-03-29
  7. "Smart people, too much beauracracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people, great benefits, resume cache

    Cons

    Disorganized, mind-numbingly focused on trivial things, stagnant culture

    Advice to Management

    Fix the culture

    Microsoft2019-04-07
  8. "Great place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Communications Manager in Redmon, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance. Culture, benefits and people are great!

    Cons

    Career opportunities are, sometimes, not clear.

    Microsoft2019-01-26
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Disconnected Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The direction and vision for the company are strong and I fully believe in CEO Satya Nadella's direction for the company. He's made great improvements in the top leader ranks on culture change. As a 12-year employee of Microsoft I've seen lots of change and I think the company is going in the best direction. However, the new vision/direction and improvements are not consistent in all divisions/functions.

    Cons

    Certain businesses like Cloud + Enterprise and business functions like Marketing are highly dysfunctional. Middle management does not align to the company values the top leaders are driving. The top leaders leave it to middle management to execute on that vision but it's done poorly at the expense of the individual contributors that are abused and threatened by poorly equipped managers.

    Advice to Management

    Top leadership should review their middle management ranks and put more management excellence control/training and policies in place otherwise the company risks losing great talent.

    Microsoft2019-01-31
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Partner Marketing Manager in Sammamish, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good values, benefits and working environment

    Cons

    Managers can be hit or miss, limited upward mobility

    Microsoft2019-01-14
Found 400 reviews