Microsoft Reviews in Oslo, Norway | Glassdoor

Microsoft Oslo Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Oslo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Smart people with interesting challenges at scale.

    Cons

    Can be hard to move fast.

    Microsoft2018-11-18
  2. "Good place to work at, where you will build world scale products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Oslo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting technical challenges, you work on projects impacting millions of people all over the world. Lots of additional benefits, good office location, and the office itself is pretty good.

    Cons

    Sometimes you may end up working with different tooling and programming language, than you thought or was told at the interview (though not that many options here and it may be temporary). As in all companies of this age you may encounter quite an amount of legacy code.

    Advice to Management

    Should be more transparent during interview process on possible tasks. Line management should pay more attention to ideas of the engineers, as these ideas may save company money.

    Microsoft2018-05-13
  3. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Oslo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * The work environment was great! * Awesome collegues, learned lots of new skills * Lots of freedom * Moonlightning (you are allowed to work on own proyects off-hours and keep the rights) * Lots of opportunities to move around the company * I was on an office which offered breakfast and lunch

    Cons

    * Lots of proyects in the company get shelved, chances are you will be working on one of them. * I was working on GUI related stuff, which I am not a fan of. * Development of products is heavily influenced by management.

    Advice to Management

    You should better allocate people's skills and interests.

    Microsoft2018-02-13
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Oslo

      I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      There's free soda in the kitchen

      Cons

      Microsoft just can't compete in today's market.

      Advice to Management

      Quit sucking

      Microsoft2016-09-01
    • "Great company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Principal Software Development Engineer in Oslo
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Exciting technology that customers pay for.

      Cons

      Big, broad businesses, tough to align.

      Advice to Management

      Cut dead weight.

      Microsoft2016-05-13
    • "Incredible source of information and fantastic co-workers!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oslo
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Incredible source of information and fantastic co-workers!

      Cons

      The difficulty in navigating, prioritizing and fulfilling my requirements whilst at the same time, struggling to get the correct stuff in place in time, because without that I'm not allowed to deliver. Catch 22 (But this I think will calm down over time, initial phase is TOUGH.)

      Microsoft2016-04-06
    • "Good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Technology Solutions Professional in Oslo
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great outline, great focus, great people, company got a right focus and inovates really good. Great reputation with clients.

      Cons

      Big organization, hard to make a huge impact

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up, mobility is key!

      Microsoft2016-03-21
    • "Great work-life balance, positive atmosphere, low stress level"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Oslo
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Writing about Microsoft Development Center Norway: Flexible working hours, positive atmosphere at day-to-day work, but also the general feeling about where the company is heading is really good. Working on newest technologies. 6 Weeks of paid vacation is one of the best things working here (and you can take it whenever you want without any negative impact). Pretty flat hierarchy (having a very good and friendly relationship...

      Show More

      Cons

      The compensation package is quite ok, but nothing extraordinary with regards to the Norwegian standard.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work

      Microsoft2015-11-14
    • "Rewarding job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Oslo
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great work, great people, extremely good working environment, decent time off, competitive compensation.

      Cons

      Legacy code-base, demanding work, long project turnovers.

      Advice to Management

      Many managers are reluctant to move towards new/better technologies which should not be the case.

      Microsoft2015-05-31
    • "Great Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Development Engineer (SDE) II in Oslo
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great energy and colleauges. They are now just getting cooler and cooler

      Cons

      Corporate is corporate, some things can be slow, but things are changing

      Advice to Management

      Less PMs in certain projects

      Microsoft2015-05-28
    Found 14 reviews