Microsoft Philadelphia Reviews

Updated May 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, amazing benefits, great work-life balance

    Cons

    Difficult partners at times, but depends on org

    Microsoft2019-05-23
  2. "Senior Director"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Director in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Industry leading technology, learning, Cloud innovation, strong customer base

    Cons

    Culture: Despite great CEO, majority of 4 layers below permeates toxic leadership & sugarcoat old demonic culture

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2018-03-22
  3. "Exciting and dynamic company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility to work remotely, great compensation, super smart colleagues, very entrepreneurial, good culture, respect of work life balance, ability to move around within the company

    Cons

    fire hose never stops, email volume is tremendous, working remotely not always optimal because it decreases your visibility and ability to collaborate

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2018-01-23
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Premier Field Engineer in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great, internal processes are really well thought out for the most part, and there is a great vibe around the direction of the company overall. The Premier division places an emphasis on work-life balance (mixed success, but the effort is there).

    Cons

    The job gives freedom to create your own schedule and drive your own success. This is really tough to do, and it's easy to fail at. Internal transfers are a lot about networking, which can be difficult depending on your own situation (specifically, where in the company you're stationed - Philly is not great for networking - Charlotte, DC, Dallas and Seattle area are the best for sustained success).

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2015-08-09
  5. "n/a"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Technology, Money, Software, Flexibility, Employment

    Cons

    Subjective, Challenging, Lack of Vision

    Microsoft2015-08-21
  6. "Application Development Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Development Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Great opportunity to learn new technologies, Good defined processes throughout the organization

    Cons

    Lots of travel, Have to participate in unwanted training

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2014-07-28
  7. "It was "o.k." but proceed with caution."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee -  in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most people who work here are very bright. Benefits are fantastic and second to none. Great to have on your resume.

    Cons

    Zero work life balance and the company talks out of both sides of it's @&&. One minute they say that they want you to have work life balance, the next they say that if you really want to get ahead that you have to put in many, many hours to get ahead. Many of the people in my group would be doing work into the night on a daily basis. They issue an annual employee survey where the purpose is to take the temperature of the employees and how they like to work at Microsoft. Each of the years that I was there, our direct manager would have a meeting with us and would say "if you have any problems at all, we would appreciate it if you told us in advance of the survey so we can work things out". This to me is just purely unethical - You are essentially strong armed into providing responses that are not honest for fear of it coming back to bite you professionally. Managers seem to be "graded" on this so if they have a small group of reports, then it wouldn't be too hard for them to figure out who said what (or they may assume). Speaking of surveys - they do the same with their customers as well. This is a big metric within MS and reps have to be very careful as to who they get to fill out their surveys in order to get a good response. Have literally seen reps blatantly ask for good marks rather than honest ones. Political - very political internally. There are people who have been there for years and are very much an "inner circle". People are some-what click'ish. Not really a "negative" but just different - Very different sales cycle and unique from most other sales organizations. July, there is nothing going on, August through ~October is mostly "sales planning". Different in that the specialists are responsible for telling the account managers where the opportunities are within the account managers companies. This is not a big negative, but I do find it unusual. You would think that the account manager should know where the opportunities are within their own accounts.

    Microsoft2013-12-29