Microsoft Portland Reviews

Updated May 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
19%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "MS Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Supply Chain in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, good people and gold star benefits.

    Cons

    Very large company requires navigation

    Microsoft2017-11-01
  2. "Its alright for starting out"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Sheridan, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Microsoft part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice working space with friendly co-workers

    Cons

    Not enough pay, also, too many work hours

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2020-05-02
  3. "Factory Repair Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Factory Repair Manager in Wilsonville, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great salary, benefits, and culture

    Cons

    There were times when it was harder than it should be to find the right owner for decisions regarding processes that crossed organizational boundaries. There was also many times where decisions were made that impacted my specific job and/or area of the company that didn't seem logical or make good business sense.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2017-11-27
  4. "Good Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Advisor in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits and Flexiable Schedule

    Cons

    Management is not to great at leadership

    Microsoft2017-02-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "EPG Alliance Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Founder and Chief Executive Officer in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great compensation, great learning environment, lots of support.

    Cons

    Highly political, low work life balance, annual performance stack ranking, constant changes in management, goals and reorganization. Massive on going CPE required. Constant travel, work over weekends and holidays.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2017-02-06
  6. "Excellent new company culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Present Talent Acquisition Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees are excited that Microsft has embraced "growth mindset" and a new focus on the cloud.

    Cons

    Working out issues for newly created roles

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2017-01-23
  7. "Mechanical Engineer Product Development"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Mechanical Engineering Contractor in Deer Island, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    I'm sure opinions vary with roles but working as an engineer designing parts is fun anywhere. At Microsoft the resources available to the creative types are terrific in both the virtual and physical design realms.

    Cons

    Its a huge organization and though budget is infinite, sometimes so is the red tape. Usual office politics also exists.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2016-08-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Company used to be great, everything has changed"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Services Advisor in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great wage for very little responsibility. Great benefits, pays for parking, and really teaches you skills to use in a real IT role.

    Cons

    Culture has moved to a sell first mindset, an