Microsoft Raleigh Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Amazing company with amazing benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Engineering Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Impact, Interesting work & CEO is the best

    Cons

    Politics at work, Sometimes it is hard to understand review system

    Microsoft2020-04-17
  2. "Great Experience"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Raleigh, NC

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company mission and leadership is inspiring

    Cons

    May have more responsibility at a smaller startup

    Microsoft2020-05-18
  3. "Fun job with lots of upward mobility"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Advisor in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft part-time

    Pros

    You can move up in the company if you really want to

    Cons

    Shifts are annoying, mostly all day

    Microsoft2019-11-03
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Company lets managers and leads publicly reprimand their reports for technical or performance reasons"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenging work and environment, very capable coworkers

    Cons

    The company encourages a culture of managers and leads publicly reprimanding their reports for technical or performance reasons. Such feedback should be given in a private office or conf room setting rather than in hallways. An aggressive performance culture is great and poor performers can be terminated, but that should be done without humiliating well qualified engineers in front of their colleagues.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2018-12-09
  5. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company lots of benefits. Lacks aspirational goals sometimes since money doesn’t seem to be an issue. Great company if you’re settling down

    Cons

    Processes can sometimes be all over the place. There can be some lack of focus in what your team is trying to achieve but this really depends on the organization you’re in.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2018-10-12
  6. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I get to work with top-notch talent, work on products that impact millions of people, and work with the latest development methods and technologies.

    Cons

    I work with teams in 3 different time zones, which can be a challenge

    Microsoft2018-05-24
  7. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Gaming Expert in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft

    Pros

    Benefits are fantastic, company really cares about I put, awesome work experience. Semi- competitive pay. Definitely an awesome retail job

    Cons

    Not really too many! Just normal workplace stuff and drama that you'd experience in any retail store. Corporate initiatives can be confusing

    Microsoft2018-04-06
  8. "Microsoft Store - good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Control Expert in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing working with my schedule for my full time job. One team, one dream Paid Training Learning Modules to keep you update to date Community outreach programs

    Cons

    Seems to be lacking a little behind in the retail industry, even though they have many stores. They are not a health conscious store - sodas and snacks (are too plentiful). I know they appeal to a certain crowd, but still. You're never alone - cameras everywhere, but to be honest, you won't have anything to worry about unless you're doing something wrong. There are few opportunities for "moving up" - you really need to fight your teammates

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2018-02-14