Microsoft Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft Intern Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 406 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great Internship!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone there was very nice and seemed to enjoy the work they were doing. The project I worked on gave me a great amount of autonomy with as much help as I needed. Folks on my and other teams were responsive to any questions I had and really made the whole experience great!

    Cons

    Microsoft does not offer an on-site gym or free food like other tech companies. They do, however, seem to pay a bit more and get you a membership to a gym of your choice (many top tier)!

    Microsoft2019-06-15
  2. "Good people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    too relaxed culture that hinders progress

    Microsoft2019-06-21
  3. "Great place to have an internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - working with cutting-edge researchers - great perk

    Cons

    Not really cons but the internship positions are filled about 9 - 10 months before the actual start dates, so you'd better apply earlier.

    Microsoft2019-04-25
  4. "Overall good, but outcomes can vary based on team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Intern in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong team of engineers, opportunities to communicate ideas and discuss with senior management. As an intern, had the opportunity to demo intern project to leaders, participate in hackathon and push hackathon project forward as a potential product.

    Cons

    Sometimes the impact of the intern project was unclear. Lots of intern perks but fewer opportunities to request placement on different teams/projects for full-time role

    Microsoft2019-03-15
  5. "Encouraging and inspiring environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Intern in Worcester, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly and talented people, well-organized

    Cons

    could be stressful to accomplish the project goal for the 12 weeks internship

    Microsoft2019-02-22
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, solid work environment.

    Cons

    High expectations with minimal guidence

    Microsoft2019-02-13
  7. "Research intern. I liked the experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Research Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Very academic environment. Seemed like my school.

    Cons

    Maybe too much academic style. You don't get to know the actual company style working. They may also not hire you, as you expect from an internship in which you perform well.

    Microsoft2019-02-10
  8. "Great experience as research intern at MSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment. lot of benefts

    Cons

    Challenge problems lot of team meetings

    Microsoft2019-01-22
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work if you aren't trying to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Literally no work Payment Seattle Free public transit Satya Looks really good on my resume now

    Cons

    Every other aspect that one could imagine. Please see advice to management.

    Advice to Management

    I worked at Microsoft this summer as an intern in Bellevue. I’m writing this with a friend who also worked at Microsoft. He didn’t find out his commute would be an hour an a half each way every day until the first day of work, and he did not have a car. One fun thing was during my summer, everyone moved floors, except for me and three other interns. So for 6 weeks of the summer, I was literally alone on the floor, without...

    Show More
    Microsoft2018-11-30
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager Intern in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    it can get pretty bureaucratic

    Microsoft2018-10-06
Found 406 reviews