Microsoft Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft Intern Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
92%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Software Engineer Intern 

    I have been working at Microsoft

    Pros

    Great timeline, great project, wonderful team

    Cons

    Some downsides were that my team didn't have many other interns.

    Microsoft2019-09-12
  2. "Mix of Good and Not so good experiences with technology used"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Data Scientist Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Perks, good environment, interesting projects

    Cons

    old school principles that do not change

    Microsoft2019-09-26
  3. "Summer of a life time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - SWE Intern in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Microsoft does a great job of making the internship experience memorable. My mentor was incredibly smart, approachable, and supportive.

    Cons

    The HQ is in suburban Seattle, and there is not much in the way of non-Microsoft activities in the immediate area. Seattle is an easy commute, so this is not that big of a deal!

    Microsoft2019-09-09
  4. "Incredible benefits and connections, but low impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Really amazing connections with full times, great intern program/perks, good location, really good benefits, looks great on resume, really learn what it's like to work in a big company and with large code bases, great work/life balance, really positive company culture (despite how old it is)

    Cons

    You have low impact, little choice on what your project is, sometimes recruiters are poor communicators, changing teams is hard, it can feel like your work isn't that important or taken that seriously

    Microsoft2019-09-24
  5. "friendly working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Intern in Redmond, WA

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly, professional, relaxing, helpful, lively

    Cons

    the restaurant is not cheap

    Microsoft2019-09-20
  6. "Great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - SWE Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good culture

    Cons

    Large company, slow to see changes

    Microsoft2019-09-03
  7. "Great Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Great learning. Great people. Great opportunities. Space to grow and have free time to chill with friends.

    Cons

    Slow paced. Big company which makes it tough to grow

    Microsoft2019-09-01
  8. "Great work-life balance, amazing intern experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineering Intern in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong opportunities for mentorship, engaging projects, fun intern events, and strong work-life balance

    Cons

    Very hierarchical, big-company feel which may not be for everyone

    Microsoft2019-08-23
  9. "Great place for a summer internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineering Intern in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great networking opportunities - Interesting work, very relevant - Room for growth and improvement - Set process for team changes (both full time and interns)

    Cons

    - Not the same feel as other current big tech firms (bigger, slower, disjointed, older) - Lacks good internal resources (central easy to use lookup tools for other employees, org structures, desk locations etc.) - Experience is highly team/org dependent (completely different experience and work/life balance from team to team and org to org)

    Microsoft2019-08-29
  10. "Research Intern at Microsoft Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Intern in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    * Cutting edge research * MSR supports academic publication * Even as an intern, I was included in the patent that the project was related to * Great benefit and salary

    Cons

    * Seattle area has many tech companies, but still not nearly as many as Bay area. * On campus dining is not great.

    Microsoft2019-08-20
Found 461 reviews