Microsoft Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20456 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Premier Field Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Networking, Opportunities for growth

    Cons

    easy to get lost in the folds, work/life can be difficult depending on the role

    Microsoft2019-09-05
  2. "Good wlb"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good wlb, a lot of space to move

    Cons

    Hard to go to the next level.

    Microsoft2019-09-19
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer Lead 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Lots of divisions - from games to enterprise software

    Cons

    Big company with some bureaucracy to navigate

    Microsoft2019-09-04
  4. "Microsoft is a technology leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineering Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Microsoft is definitely one of the best companies to work for. The best thing about Microsoft is that you get to work on almost anything that are cutting edge in the tech industry.

    Cons

    At times you might feel that Microsoft is a bit laid back in some areas and you would feel that you needed more momentum to get going.

    Microsoft2019-09-04
  5. "Potential to be great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Innovation-focused. Great leadership at the top. Plays the long-game.

    Cons

    Management bureaucracy - especially at the mid / upper bounds. Lack of cohesion inside the company across groups. More focused on positioning internally vs. rallying externally.

    Microsoft2019-09-17
  6. "Great work life balance, high bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Marketing Manager 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed the incredibly smart people, Grand scope of impact, and the ability to negotiate your own pace at work

    Cons

    The bureaucracy is very alive and kicking. Personal politics do unfortunately take center stage and it's very much an old boys club, with certain individuals justifying their dominance purely based on tenure.

    Microsoft2019-09-17
  7. "One of the best companies I've been to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Microsoft part-time

    Pros

    High pay, friendly coworkers, and easy networking

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons

    Microsoft2019-09-18
  8. "Fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Product Advisor 

    I have been working at Microsoft part-time

    Pros

    Benefits, fun people to work with, good pay

    Cons

    It’s hard to move up

    Microsoft2019-09-18
  9. "Changing culture is awesome, still room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love what Satya has done since he joined - it immediately became a much better place to work.

    Cons

    Still some bumps in the road in terms of HR policies and practices. Sometimes it appears they're more interested in covering their butt than doing the right thing.

    Microsoft2019-09-18
  10. "Fun job, but very underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    cool perks lots of resources nice coworkers

    Cons

    corporate politics take advantage of contractors

    Microsoft2019-09-18
Found 20456 reviews