Microsoft Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft Intern Reviews

Updated 6 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
92%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work if you aren't trying to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Literally no work Payment Seattle Free public transit Satya Looks really good on my resume now

    Cons

    Every other aspect that one could imagine. Please see advice to management.

    Advice to Management

    I worked at Microsoft this summer as an intern in Bellevue. I’m writing this with a friend who also worked at Microsoft. He didn’t find out his commute would be an hour an a half each way every day until the first day of work, and he did not have a car. One fun thing was during my summer, everyone moved floors, except for me and three other interns. So for 6 weeks of the summer, I was literally alone on the floor,... without an office or any adults to talk to. It was as if they forgot we existed. My boss came into work maybe 10 times over the course of the summer. It was considered a “fun” and “different” day if he was there! I personally felt very underutilized, having little to no work to do every day. My friend also had a project that took him 4 weeks to complete (the internship is 12 weeks), and 3 of those weeks were spent trying to get people to respond to emails. Fast forward to the school year after. I emailed my recruiter and my former boss telling them of my upcoming plans to not return due to this experience and wish to be literally anywhere else on this earth next summer. It was a nice email, well-intentioned. Neither of them responded to me. It baffles me that everyone at the company makes literally no effort to capture and retain talent. At a dinner I had with my recruiter, he literally said: “We just can’t compete with Facebook or Google” in regards to recruiting anyone. Maybe you could if you made any effort, like responding to my emails or making it seem like an interesting place to work, or giving me work when you are paying me. But it was fun to be in Seattle! I met my current lover there. Also work had free drinks (but nothing else). If you are looking for a job where you have to do next to nothing and get paid lots for it (aren’t we all), Microsoft is the place for you! Personally, I have ambition.

    Show More
    Microsoft2018-11-30
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Program Manager Intern in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    it can get pretty bureaucratic

    Microsoft2018-10-06
  3. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - MBA Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    >> The culture at Microsoft under Satya's leadership is great and the company is becoming more innovative. >> The feedback process is more transparent and the company rewards not only individual performance but one's contribution to the success of others. This encourages more teamwork. >> Great benefits (especially healthcare) and work-life balance.

    Cons

    >> It is a very large company so there are still some employees who might be stuck in the world way of thinking under former CEOs. However, I think the company is doing everything to align everyone with the company's culture.

    Advice to Management

    Keep innovating and improving the culture of the company as Microsoft has a great future.

    Microsoft2018-10-04
  4. "Financial Analyst Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice culture, no pressure, interesting problems, good benefits

    Cons

    a little slow, lots of red tape

    Advice to Management

    keep it up

    Microsoft2018-09-02
  5. "PM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - PM Intern in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits including health insurance, travel reimbursements etc. Lots of intern events and swag.

    Cons

    The intern to full time process is very rigid. It is hard to switch teams.

    Microsoft2018-08-16
  6. "A Great Place to Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Intern in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    - They appreciate their interns - Almost everyone works on real projects - Awesome place to spend a summer - Great culture - Relocation and housing covered

    Cons

    - Some interns might not get challenging enough work

    Microsoft2018-08-16
  7. "From Program Manager to Software Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Their bonuses are cool and they have a lot of diversity an inclusion in their community.

    Cons

    They don't give you free food :(

    Microsoft2018-07-26
  8. "Most Fun Internship of Any Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineering Intern in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely incredible intern program. They deliver on the intern-wide events (concert, Intern Outing), with smaller social groups and activities (yacht party, guided hikes and kayaking), and the internship itself is a lot of fun and you get to know your team pretty well. Lots of socializing with the other interns and I met so, so many wonderful people that summer, some of whom I still keep in touch with.

    Cons

    An intern is given a return offer for their original team, I got the sense from my team members that it's easy to get silo'ed away in one part of the company, which I don't think is ideal early in one's career.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage more lateral movement of interns, give them more options for full time return teams.

    Microsoft2018-08-08
  9. "PM Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Summer Intern in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Impactful Internships Great Perks I love the company!

    Cons

    No free food is the only thing i can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep making Microsoft better!

    Microsoft2018-07-16
  10. "Software Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineering Intern in Redmond, WA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great work-life balance: my team had flexible work hours - Good management: at my time at Microsoft, my supervisor and mentor were very approachable - They spoil interns: they make interning at Microsoft as much a social experience as a job, with the intended purpose of getting interns to come back full time

    Cons

    - Lots of work with legacy systems: my team worked a fair amount with legacy code, which was tedious and uninteresting - Hard to feel motivated: given the size of the company, it is easy on many of the teams to feel that the work you are doing has little impact

    Advice to Management

    Give interns a better description of their jobs before they are hired. My biggest problem with Microsoft was that, as an incoming intern, management refused to detail what team I would be working with before I accepted the offer, which resulted in me working on a project I did not enjoy.

    Microsoft2018-06-25
Found 461 reviews