Microsoft Software Engineers Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft Software Engineer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3507 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Great culture and work-life balance. I also like the direction of the company.

    Cons

    Other top level companies tend to pay better

    Advice to Management

    Google, Amazon and Facebook are getting our employees because they offer better total compensation. You should make compensation more competitive.

    Microsoft2019-04-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "It's not perfect, but easier miles better than anywhere I've worked before."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Design Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Can't speak for all teams/orgs but I love mine and couldn't ask for a better work environment. Emphasis is placed on end product and working together, instead of looking busy and trying to outshine your coworkers.

    Cons

    No free food, can't bring my dog to work and compensation is less than main competition. But if I'm being honest, I value a healthy work environment and far more than any of these things.

    Advice to Management

    I can understand that free food will never happen, but can we have a compromise for the people who do care? Maybe give them free smoothies?

    Microsoft2019-04-17
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Software Development Engineer 

      I have been working at Microsoft full-time

      Pros

      Loved it very very much

      Cons

      It is really really big

      Microsoft2019-04-19
    • "Good place to learn fundamentals"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Software Engineer II in Cambridge, MA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Was my first software engineering position out of college. I benefitted a lot from feedback from more senior engineers and learned good industry practices including things like writing technical designs, giving useful code review feedback, and writing decoupled and testable code. I felt like it prepared me well to take on my next technical role. Also, got to work on some interesting problems while also having pretty good...

        Show More

        Cons

        Sometimes teams can be a little siloed (even feature teams working on the same product) and there can be a lack of communication which results in some wasted effort or different components of a project not cleanly coming together

        Microsoft2019-04-15
      • "Great place to start your career"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Development Engineer 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Microsoft full-time

        Pros

        Resources to learn on many challenging projects

        Cons

        Scope of work is sometimes limited. Not competitively pay.

        Microsoft2019-04-11
      • "good company, cool technology stack"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Engineer 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        smart people around and growth

        Cons

        good work life balance and benefit

        Microsoft2019-04-11
      • "Good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

        I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Work life balance is super good

        Cons

        Behind technology, still don’t work on new product

        Microsoft2019-04-22
      • "Great company, benefits, salaries not on par"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Engineer 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Great coworkers to work with

        Cons

        The salary is not as high as other major IT companies

        Microsoft2019-04-19
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Software Engineer 

          I worked at Microsoft full-time

          Pros

          You can learn a lot very quickly in a very short time - Surrounded with nothing but incredibly smart and driven individuals.

          Cons

          Can be overwhelming, very steep learning curve

          Microsoft2019-04-16
        • "Nice working environment"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Software Engineer 

          I have been working at Microsoft full-time

          Pros

          Work life balance. Good people to work with

          Cons

          less salary compares to other

          Microsoft2019-04-01
        Found 3507 reviews