Microsoft Reviews in Tokyo, Japan | Glassdoor

Microsoft Tokyo Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good culture, growing company, good salary

    Cons

    people (in MS Japan) tend to work on their holidays

    Microsoft2018-09-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Data Center Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Center Technician in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company Reputation. Free to voice opinion etc. Troubleshooting skill will improve.

    Cons

    Management of the technicians is insulting and like a dictatorship. The managers has lack of any knowledge. Can not do schedule management correctly.

    Advice to Management

    Actual Managers need to be in the position. Such a spiteful working environment. Remove managers by listening to techs voice. Majority feel the same for a reason, the management lacks any class and humanity.

    Microsoft2018-09-08
  3. "Product Lifecycle Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Accountable for full ownership of the new product launches by facilitating extensive number of key stakeholders and launch new product and offer to customers (both Consumer/Commercial) around the world.

    Cons

    Too many re-organizations and reporting manager changes almost every year.

    Microsoft2018-03-14
  4. "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collaborative culture, cutting-edge technology, responsive coworkers, great culture

    Cons

    communication layer is too complicated, too many meetings due to unclear responsibility boundry

    Advice to Management

    make the structure more efficient

    Microsoft2018-02-21
  5. "Good company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Aspire-to culture. All employees believe in the company mission.

    Cons

    The structure is huge and well-designed. Hard to influence at scale.

    Microsoft2017-10-10
  6. "Sr Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Microsoft is good environment for work

    Cons

    Weakness of Enterprise business except O365

    Advice to Management

    Should act "Talk Straight"

    Microsoft2017-10-12
  7. "too may policies, less agility, no enablers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Account Manager in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good forecast of their cloud strategies, as well as Azure, O365 and D365. Work life balance is pretty good.

    Cons

    Many of our managers are struggling with their scorecards and pay less attention to their customers. "Customer focus" was one of new leadership principles, but never understood properly by our managers. Also we are losing our agility since there are too many policies.

    Advice to Management

    Need to invest on the sellers. Microsoft products and services are not as competitive as you thought.

    Microsoft2017-09-10
  8. "Great atmosphere, but less skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Google Software Engineer in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You can came to the office anytime, and leave there anytime.

    Cons

    The skill level of engineers is not so high.

    Advice to Management

    Please hire more talented people in terms of coding.

    Microsoft2017-04-07
  9. "It's a big company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance and relatively higher payment rather than other industry. Company invests huge money to educate people and people are basically smart in most of cases. For these a few years, product strategy is getting better so that people can expect new S curve.

    Cons

    Too much centralized in terms of strategy and marketing plan development perspective, that makes some people lose his/her passion for marketing. No need to say about politics or many people are spending their time to convince internal people. Therefore being customer obsessed is bit difficult in this organization.

    Microsoft2017-04-16
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Marketing Manager in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Exciting environment as the market rapidly changes/evolves but Microsoft has been keeping up with it under the new CEO's management, part of which is represented by revenue growth and stock price increases. - Very mature org with history, where management process is established. On the other hand, we adapt to the external changes flexibly at the same time. - great people to collaborate with - flexible work style...

    Show More

    Cons

    Maybe volatile in consumer business, such as Surface, as the past cash cow of Office gradually loses its profitability. I would recommend working in commercial area if you're interested as this would be safer.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to product quality/experience instead of profitability as these are the areas that competitors are doing better at.

    Microsoft2016-12-26
Found 31 reviews