Microsoft Reviews in Vancouver, BC | Glassdoor

Microsoft Vancouver Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great small group of performance experts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Technology Officer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    small flexible work schedule with small company problems

    Cons

    small company with small company problems

    Microsoft2019-06-14
  2. "Work for the company with the largest market cap in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDE2 in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice benefits and perks and great location

    Cons

    Some of the projects are boring and/or chaotic

    Microsoft2019-05-23
  3. "One of the best tech companies in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company culture. Wonderful teamwork. Also good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Toolchains are mostly based on Windows. This could be a limitation when comes to research on available open-source building blocks used in the project.

    Microsoft2019-04-18
  4. "Product Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment and people to work with.

    Cons

    I'm on contract and my agency is paying me less than industry standards.

    Microsoft2019-02-11
  5. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Outstanding team atmosphere. Supportive management. Good compensation. Nice office located in the center of the city. Many possibilities to change projects. Mature attitude to the future planning.

    Cons

    Many rotational employees. Toilets could have higher separation walls.

    Microsoft2019-01-26
  6. "No regrets!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Big company with many perks and benefits Opportunity to work on great products and depending on team cool technology Work life balance was epic most of the time

    Cons

    If you end up on a bad team they can make life suck with boring work and role demotions to fill hiring gaps Avoid "studios" unless you know who manages it and that it is stable under the current Org. My studio changed Org's about 5 times in 4 years: it was destructive on many levels

    Advice to Management

    Need better mentoring and training to help people reach the next level. Mentors/Manager should be required to do training because many only took on direct reports for their own career advancement and didn't follow through with meaningful 1:1's or consistent feedback

    Microsoft2019-01-30
  7. "Inventory Control Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks and learning from management and systems. lots of exposure.

    Cons

    Growth from retail to cooperate not there

    Microsoft2018-12-02
  8. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1. Good working environment 2. Benefits. 3. Work life balance

    Cons

    1. Less salary compared to US 2. Not many options within current location.

    Microsoft2018-10-30
  9. "UX UI Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UI-UX Designer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and office environment.

    Cons

    I have lower pay than industry standards (contractor).

    Advice to Management

    Let Designers make their won design review meetings.

    Microsoft2018-10-04
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, most of the teams are packed by extremely smart and competent people.

    Cons

    Work outside the Redmond office is not valued as much, even if you produce more. Some teams and maybe entire orgs may have toxic culture (the remnants of Balmer era). This is being fixed but some parts are moving way too slowly.

    Advice to Management

    Try to reduce the discrimination. I am not talking about the gender or race, Microsoft is great in this regard - I am talking about Redmond vs the rest of the world and full time employees vs the vendors.

    Microsoft2018-09-19
Found 74 reviews