Microsoft Reviews in Waltham, MA | Glassdoor

Microsoft Waltham Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
85%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Technology Strategist in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Listen, a company's strategic vision will ebb and flow and it's up to the Senior Leadership team to try their best to gaze into the Crystal Ball of Big Data and arrive at a decision. Some we may not agree with, some we go with the flow. I was there during the BillG and SteveB era and they were a little more maverick in their approach versus Satya. Overall, it's still a great place to work.

    Cons

    Too many MBAs trying to figure out how to KPI everything!

    Microsoft2016-06-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Was a great place to work until the management went downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Made a bundle back when options were king. In my latter years the salary plus bonus was great but the big money was behind me (early 2000s). Being a consultant is great of you like to do something different every day and not stick around when the sh** hits the fan.

    Cons

    Management in my later years was awful. The goal was to keep you utilized and if that meant putting you on a plane or having you write Excel macros, so be it. Review time was always a crap shoot, you never knew what "mystery" goal was going to turn up to justify a poor (or average if you were lucky) review.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2014-03-29
  3. "Good learning opportunities and training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Support Engineer in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learn top notch skills, make good friends

    Cons

    Stressful at times, very demanding work

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2013-11-10
  4. "Great experience, Good company... cares about employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solution Specialist in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee oriented, a good place to grow a career. Not typical sales environment so if you are looking for big bucks from selling, this is not the place.

    Cons

    Can be very political. It's a big company environment so if you like small, make it happen type environment I would not recommend this company.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2013-08-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good company as far as benefits and salary - unfavorable as far as work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Waltham, MA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft

    Pros

    Great benefits and salary Solid products and reputation

    Cons

    Good ol' boys club in Waltham office as far as sales manager and competence If a sales manager does not like you - watch out - your days are numbered at Microsoft and there is very little recourse as far as HR stepping into very unfair situations It is who you know that gets you promoted - not by achievement or talent

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2011-09-20
  6. "Microsoft"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Manager in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft

    Pros

    Great culture, awesome people, strong enterprise products

    Cons

    increasing competition from all directions, internal beaurocracy

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2010-11-28
  7. "Great place with smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Analyst Intern in Waltham, MA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft

    Pros

    Very good working condition, smart people around me and they are very helpful and friendly. Also resouce is plentiful at Microsoft.

    Cons

    Sometimes it takes meeting after meeting to make a decision when it requires running lean and agile. Also, HR people are very hard to deal with.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2010-07-15
  8. "Good pay, decent job for large corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft

    Pros

    Great opportunity. There are many positions and products to work on, and people are given opportunity to try new positions all the time.

    Cons

    There are so many "top performers" that it's not easy to get ahead. You need to put a lot of effort into gaining visibility because the organization is so large.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2008-10-10
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Steve B.'s time has come and past."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Technology Specialist (ATS) in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft

    Pros

    The health plan is great

    Cons

    We're amoral and cheat our employees and customers. People in Redmond are some of the most arrogant people on the planet.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2008-06-12
  10. "Wish Microsoft Would Compensate Its High Performers Better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Account Technology Specialist (ATS) in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft

    Pros

    The best reason is the ability to always learn new technologies and being on the cutting edge.

    Cons

    The constant pace of performing at a very high level.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2008-04-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews