Microsoft Administrative assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft Administrative Assistant Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
92%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Going to be sad when contract expires"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Administrative Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    inclusive environment, very nice and extremely brilliant people. Lot's of positive initiatives to meet team and organizational goals, collaborative environment, very relaxed yet fostering culture

    Cons

    I am on a contract that is ending soon. That's the only con I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    My team's management is excellent. Keep up the good and hard work!!

    Microsoft2019-11-09
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Executive Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Administrative Assistant in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great teams, good people, inclusive and diverse. Good benefits.

    Cons

    No stock. No Bonus. Hourly employee compared to all other Corporate Employees. Makes one feel less than and undervalued.

    Advice to Management

    Look into giving bonus and stock awards to BAs and EAs.

    Microsoft2018-03-15
  3. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed the working atmosphere.

    Cons

    There was too much red tape.

    Microsoft2017-02-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Benefits, Hectic Pace, and Ever Evolving Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent Benefits Flexibility Tech Learning Opportunities

    Cons

    They look for career secretaries/ administrative assistants, so it's not that great if you are looking to advance beyond that type of role. Limited advancement opportunities if you are not located in Redmond, WA. No equity or bonus structure for administrative support staff. Way to many disparate internal systems and processes that are time consuming and redundant.

    Advice to Management

    Add equity and bonus structure for administrative support staff. Develop internal systems that work collaboratively with each other.

    Microsoft2015-11-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Executive Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Executive Administrative Assistant in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, could work from home often and never had trouble getting time off.

    Cons

    Did not get same benefits as contracted employee. All contracts last maximum 18 months

    Advice to Management

    Make it easier for vendors to convert to FTE in their same position, do away with 18 month rule.

    Microsoft2015-08-20
  6. "Great place for opportunities but not longevity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Administrative Assistant II in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and the environment is fun and challenging and great to work with dynamic teams.

    Cons

    100 day breaks are very frustrating to an employee and to the team, because once you get set up and running and bonded with the team you have to leave and they are left in a lurch after spending so much time training the person.

    Advice to Management

    Help the contractor, if you value them, to find a permanent place at Microsoft

    Microsoft2014-03-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Your experience will depend on your manager and leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    a good manager will allow you room to learn and grow and will support you and your work

    Cons

    products being released simply mimic other companies' hits (except Xbox) the culture doesn't emphasize importance of good management there is absolutely no humanity or compassion left in the company leadership is deluded that the review system is helpful and doesn't encourage competition within teams

    Advice to Management

    stop reviewing on a curve. it's ok to not be completely transparent with compensation information. start treating people as humans instead of commodities

    Microsoft2013-10-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Is not what you think it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get the updated software and news on IT updates.

    Cons

    The Company does not care about who they lay-off. Not that many ethnic women or men executives. Does not care about it's support staff.

    Advice to Management

    Step up to show that you care about your support staff. I encourage more ethnic women and men executives. Get a heart and focus more on caring.

    Microsoft2013-07-19
  9. "Become a mover, don't unpack."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Redmond, WA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft

    Pros

    Microsoft has great perks and benefits. If you take advantage of them. Some (depending on your job) opportunities to increase your education and your resume. All the soda you can drink.

    Cons

    No bonuses for hourly employees. If your in a "clerical" type position you may not be considered for promotions or other jobs because of your level. No one wants to make a decision or make people feel bad. This often means that bad employees or managers are passed from one department to another becuase no one will fire them.

    Advice to Management

    The company is too big and no one talks to each other. Get back to the small organization and really focus on doing one or two things well.

    Microsoft2009-08-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company! I'm proud that I'm part of this team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft

    Pros

    There are numerous reasons for why I choose to work for Microsoft: getting paid for what I really enjoy doing, excellent advancement opportunities, fast growing company, great benefits, fun working environment, extremely talented/smart people etc.

    Cons

    It's quite difficult to get in, even if you know the requirements for the job. It helps a lot to know somebody inside! My friend was a babysitter for this manager at Microsoft and now she is his personal assistant (no experience, no knowledge whatsoever).

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! Listen to your workers and embrace the diversity of talent within your division.

    Microsoft2008-06-16
Found 16 reviews