Microsoft Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for director

Microsoft Director Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 533 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent people and career opportunities

    Cons

    Slower to react to external opportunities, internal politics

    Microsoft2019-07-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company: Challenging for Women and Innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director Marketing in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company that gives it's employees a load of benefits including ability to grow professionally. Customer centric.

    Cons

    Not incredibly innovative. Very bureaucracy heavy. Not a great place to be a woman leader - must fit into a mold of how to act/lead.

    Advice to Management

    Be open to various forms of leaders. There isn't a one size fits all way to lead. Innovation is hard to process and operationalize. Innovation is in every group not just engineering. The time suck of the business reviews compared to the value out, was horrendous. Loads of duplication.

    Microsoft2019-08-23
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Director in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart, driven people. Aggressively adapting to stay relevant.

    Cons

    Very large organization with overlapping roles and responsibilities.

    Microsoft2019-08-13
  4. "Still alot of old practices going on at this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director of Marketing 

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Decent benefits and stock price currently. Not on par with pay and benefits as other tech companies. Marketing is severely under valued and paid less with the most work at the company.

    Cons

    here is a culture change happening but there are still a lot of the Ballmer era people around collecting enormous paychecks. Satya should work to clear these people out. My old GM was reported multiple times for discrimination and yet he is still there. Amy Hood is severely under resourcing long-standing businesses to keep our valuation where it is at. It feels a little too scrappy for a trillion $ company.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within. Clear out all leads with multiple complaints.

    Microsoft2019-08-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company, Rampant Age Discrimination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lot's of smart people. Good opportunity for a diverse and growing career.

    Cons

    Let go while still providing huge business value so that they could get "new blood". Untrained, inexperienced newcomers are constantly hired to replace at a lower cost more senior (read OLDER) employees. It should be illegal they way Microsoft treats older, experienced, valuable employees. Aside from that its always been a highly political, bloated mess of an organization based on old boys network connections and... run like a club. Good thing they have had cash to try and catch up in the cloud.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn to value business and customer understanding along with youthful enthusiasm.....your new hires make way too many mistakes.

    Microsoft2019-08-07
  6. "Good Deal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Career Advancement, growth opportunity, development, compensation

    Cons

    Culture, lack of accountability within teams.

    Advice to Management

    Pay closer attention to what is going on in the org to create a positive culture. Stop overlooking dead weight

    Microsoft2019-07-15
  7. "Budginting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Finance Director in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company with good benefits

    Cons

    Not many negative has MSFT

    Microsoft2019-06-27
  8. "One of the best companies to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Director in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very empowering environment. Love the freedom to make an impact not only within the team but across the company.

    Cons

    Career progression is a bit slow.

    Microsoft2019-06-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Have a career, not just a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best reason to work for Microsoft is the quality of the people who work there. Extremely smart, passionate and fantastic professionals.

    Cons

    As any big company, the ability to have impact in the overall strategy is limited.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the growth mindset approach!

    Microsoft2019-05-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sophisticated workplace exclusion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. CEO/Satya who cares about the work environment for his employees or at least is visible in vocalizing that. Human Resources less so - pretty standard, protect the status quo and current leaders mentality.

    Cons

    I worked in Redmond in Windows/E&D. As a highly educated and senior leader who is a woman of color, I felt repeatedly excluded by the white women in my organization, particularly those with historical/seniority status. They had very subtle exclusionary behaviors that can’t be “written up.” Examples include: talking about me behind my back, which I heard from another colleague; discounting/ignoring my contributions... and ideas; greeting only each other in the office and not initiating social conversations with me; seeding doubt about my project outcomes and timelines by telling the executives that we weren’t going to hit our timeline and budget. Meanwhile, my white female counterparts gave themselves generous overages on completing their pieces both in time and budget. In my history of working for multiple companies and work environments, I have never felt so invisible, devalued and disrespected than at Microsoft.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take employee complaints seriously, even if you hear them through the grapevine and not directly. Employees don’t feel comfortable going to HR which is seen as highly biased protector of the status quo. I get it, HR professionals move up the chain by protecting and advocating for the leadership.

    Microsoft2019-06-13
Found 533 reviews