Microsoft Project manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft Project Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 162 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Love this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project/Program Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Lots of smart, humble people who are ready to learn -Great benefits -Stronger culture since Satya Nadella became CEO

    Cons

    -Base salaries can be on the lower side.

    Advice to Management

    -Keep going! The company has had an amazing 5 years. -Focus more on the internal mobility of talent.

    Microsoft2019-06-11
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Project Manager 

    I worked at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    Always challenged, bright people to work with, remote/flex work options

    Cons

    On-boarding process for contractors could be better.

    Microsoft2019-09-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Started great, ended worse."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Center Project Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    compensation and benefits start out great. The sign on package will get you hooked. The global team is very welcoming.

    Cons

    Leadership in the organization I worked it has progressively gone downhill. No longer do they care about building a strong team, and only focus on metrics and producing deliverables with the least amount of manpower/head count. Local leadership will find every possible way to tell you how the team is not performing well, and will routinely spin metrics to hide the flaws and gaps in process and workflow. All the... while touting transparency, and fairness. Yearly required training talks about these concepts, but locally they are not evangelized. If your output starts trending downward, they will literally push you out in front of the bus. Local top leadership is expecting blind loyalty and obedience, and will burn you out if you don't. The once great team, is now just a shell of it's past self and being decimated by poor senior leadership.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    don't burn your best assets, and actually have a heart and soul.

    Microsoft2019-08-30
  4. "18/6 rule is not preferred"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Project Manager in Redmond, WA

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    nice place to work in longer term contract

    Cons

    taking 6 m0s off is not preferred

    Microsoft2019-08-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very happy here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Since Satya arrived, the culture shift has been incredible. I also feel I have great work-life balance and that my managers are empathetic with both work and personal subjects.

    Cons

    I hear the engineering teams' culture is awful.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on improving engineering teams' culture.

    Microsoft2019-05-22
  6. "Great, fun, diverse team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Thoughtful and knowledgable managers who work with you to create good work product.

    Cons

    Such a large company that things can run slowly/bureaucratically at times.

    Microsoft2019-04-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, challenging work, and nice career opportunities. Learning and discovery is encouraged.

    Cons

    Skill sets are narrowly viewed. Very competitive environment. It is necessary to promote yourself and build your brand to survive. If you aren't an extrovert, love bragging about yourself, and doing fancy presentations then forget about advancing your career.

    Advice to Management

    Promote team collaboration. Speak up to upper management if you don't agree with what you are being asked to do. There is huge disconnect between the message Satya Nadella is trying to convey and what is actually going on in the trenches. Help support closing the gap between the old Microsoft culture and new.

    Microsoft2019-03-13
  8. "IT Management Lacks Personal Communications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - IT Senior Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to learn something new.

    Cons

    IT management is missing inter-personal skills and limit their verbal communications and rely on email to communicate to staff. Certain staff should remain as Techs & Engineers and should not have been placed in positions overseeing staff.

    Advice to Management

    Take seminars on "How to Work With People".

    Microsoft2019-02-04
  9. "Great place to learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    People care about your growth and wants you to learn and take the initiative

    Cons

    Culture is pretty old. They are building a new campus however

    Microsoft2019-01-09
  10. "A lot of personnel changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft part-time

    Pros

    Good salary and excellent benefits

    Cons

    A lot of personnel changes

    Microsoft2019-01-02
Found 162 reviews