Microsoft Project manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft Project Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
  1. "A lot of personnel changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft part-time

    Pros

    Good salary and excellent benefits

    Cons

    A lot of personnel changes

    Microsoft2019-01-02
  2. "Great benefits and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, people, company direction

    Cons

    Large company, lots of politics

    Microsoft2018-09-17
  3. "Project Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, silos still exist but are changing! Benefits are superb! Amazing CEO.

    Cons

    Redmond based, getting top heavy and politics at play.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring great leaders like Satya!

    Microsoft2018-08-07
  4. "Lots to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Project Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    - Working with great people - Great environment - Very little management oversight - you are expected to lead yourself - Great possibility to work remotely

    Cons

    - No training given to contract staff - so you have to feel your way around and ask lots of questions.

    Advice to Management

    Look into a standard basic training for contract staff besides the security training. Perhaps it should be on the intranet.

    Microsoft2018-06-25
  5. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Reno, NV
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice cafeteria and little else

    Cons

    Everything else. Poor mid management, incompetent project/program mangers. Needed to hire an outside contractor to teach the FTE's how to use Microsoft Project. Not one person knew what a critical path schedule was or even that their own software was supposed to produce one.

    Advice to Management

    Purge the deadwood

    Microsoft2018-07-19
  6. "Microsoft: Cultural Transition for the Next 40 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Project Manager in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pays well. Culture is improving. 15k to spend on your charity every year. Values diversity, data security, innovation (engineering) Great for VR, AI and Quantum Computing. "All in" for the Cloud.

    Cons

    Still working through some cultural problems. People are compensated to meet different goals so it creates a lot of tension because we are pulling in different directions some times.

    Advice to Management

    Pick fewer goals to focus on. Align compensation plans toward those goals for everyone. Get everyone rowing in the same direction.

    Microsoft2018-01-02
  7. "Finance PM @ Microsoft"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Redmond, WA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    pays well, good place for personal development

    Cons

    somewhat negative environment/culture, highly siloed

    Microsoft2017-12-07
  8. "Enjoying Azure and Satya"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Satya is reforming Microsoft starting with Azure.

    Cons

    It’s taking a long time to get to more toxic areas of the company like Bing. Bing is a mess and completely politically charged with rest and vest managers.

    Advice to Management

    Scrutinize Bing Partner level management. They’re underperforming and have an intimidating environment. Continue proliferating Azure’s culture across the company.

    Microsoft2017-10-27
  9. "Agile manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agile Project Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    initiate my professional career with Microsoft Technology

    Cons

    worked with company vendor is quite differ compare to their own premises .

    Advice to Management

    Good management .

    Microsoft2017-10-06
  10. "Good While It Lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a good company to work for. Smart people, technologically curious and forthright. Interesting work, lots of diversity in employees and job responsibilities. Good severance package.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, I was part of the Nokia acquisition that resulted in the closing of our R&D site. It's so big that processes and procedures were lacking. Lots of red tape. Poor severance communication policies.

    Advice to Management

    None; I understand the business decision, especially after new leadership took over.

    Microsoft2017-07-26
Found 164 reviews