Microsoft Project manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Microsoft Project Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
  1. "IT PM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people were nice to work with

    Cons

    I worked 50+ hours a week

    Microsoft2017-02-14
  2. "Microsoft"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Infrastructure Project Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company for contract employment. Worked there as a contract employee for nearly 18 years.

    Cons

    It is a very big company and, as such, is very compartmentalized in how they go about doing business. This creates a need for specialists more than general knowledge technologists.

    Advice to Management

    Diversify your positions

    Microsoft2017-01-09
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Argyle, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I loved my time at Microsoft. Great benefits, pay and people.

    Cons

    Focus on only growing jobs in Seattle Area

    Advice to Management

    Look at other markets in the US, where there is great talent

    Microsoft2016-07-25
  5. "Senior Operations Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Global Project and Program Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Diversity of opportunities -Compensation -Results rather than effort driven -Evolved EQ over the years -Support for continuous development

    Cons

    -Cronyism -Stack-ranked approach to annual rewards

    Microsoft2016-07-13
  6. "Senior Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Project Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cutting-Edge technologies, Smart employees, Opportunities

    Cons

    Stress, Internal politics, High competition between employees

    Microsoft2016-06-18
  7. "Excellent Place to Gain Lots of Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Azure Project Manager in Issaquah, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are interested it is a great place to get experience in many different technological areas I highly recommend Microsoft. The benefits are really good, especially if you have dependent children. If things work out well you could get into a good group/team and make a real difference. Life under Satya is MUCH better than under Ballmer, no question.

    Cons

    A decent amount of frustration occurs due to politics. Your career can excel more by aligning with the right manager and drinking the Kool-Aid with a lot of enthusiasm. Less based on your performance and impact. This is relative but being able to jump on the new trend handed down by management, learning the lingo and not questioning the merits does provide results. Not sure this is worse than other large... corporations. Also, layoffs are now a regular part of doing business for Microsoft. If you plan on staying no more than 3 years is a safe bet. Satya has really changed the top level culture of the company but it still will be a few years before group start to trust each other if they ever do.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to devalue roles that aren't specifically software development in nature. If all you need are software develops to run all of your services then do it. Otherwise stop placing non-software developers into roles that serve as duct tape and bailing wire to hold things together. SRE is a great idea in concept but at some point if it doesn't work look at alternatives.

    Microsoft2016-06-22
  8. "Great place to contract and gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Marketing Project Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my time contracting at MSFT. Gained valuable skills and actually had quite a bit of professional growth throughout my time there.

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity to be converted to a full time employee any more and it can be hard to stay a contractor long term.

    Advice to Management

    Management should offer more opportunities for contract employees to convert to full time if they have shown value and skill in their role.

    Microsoft2016-05-25
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Delivery Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Project Manager in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits, great learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Despite an overhaul of the Annual review process last year, it is still very broken and continues to pit everyone against each other which causes lots of bad behavior. HR tries to claim it doesn't, but everyone knows that it does. It also remains very subjective and the whole process lacks integrity. In fact, I believe that broken review process is the number one problem across Microsoft.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the annual review process for real, infuse it with objective measures, and ensure that it is done with integrity across the board.

    Microsoft2015-12-10
  10. "Very smart people. Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Project Manager in Redmond, WA

    I worked at Microsoft for less than a year

    Pros

    Facilities. Types of projects. Technology.

    Cons

    Large company Mandatory 6-month break for V- people.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the 18-month clock!

    Microsoft2015-12-09
  11. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Project Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always latest technology exposure and opportunity to work in new areas.

    Cons

    Work life balance varies from group to group.

    Microsoft2015-11-08
Found 165 reviews