Mid-Continent Public Library Library Page Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Mid-Continent Public Library Library Page Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mid-Continent Public Library Library Director and CEO Steven Potter (no image)
Steven Potter
1 Rating
  1. "Library Page"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Library Page in Independence, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely amazing group of people to work with, and for! Very flexible with scheduling. Very low stress job, for the most part. As a page, you have some interactions with the public but it's not constant.

    Cons

    Financial compensation isn't the greatest, but then again this is a very simple job.

    Mid-Continent Public Library2017-08-20
  2. "I liked the people but no advancement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Page 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I liked the coworkers for the most part. Management was kind.

    Cons

    They never promoted from within. Some favoritism occurred.

    Mid-Continent Public Library2019-04-30
  3. "A great, low stress job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Page in Lees Summit, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This was the first job I had and while it was just a part time, entry level job I kept through college, I really loved it. I remember in high school, my friends all telling me their horror stories from their jobs in fast food places or retail and I really wanted to avoid that. Working at the library was so nice. The work was easy and the people were really great, the hours were flexible and overall it was a great work environment that I would highly recommend.

    Cons

    If you get numbers or letters mixed up easily, or you don't like repetitive tasks like shelving books, this might not be the job for you.

    Mid-Continent Public Library2019-03-04
  4. "Good people, iffy corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Page 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked at Mid-Continent as a page for a number of years. I loved my time there and left feeling very close to a lot of my coworkers. The hours were flexible and reasonable, the work was satisfying, and the library was very engaged in the community.

    Cons

    Mid-Continent pays their employees very poorly, especially considering the size of the system. I joined on right as the economy was tanking and budgets were getting slashed, so I can recognize how those factors contribute to wages. But there were full time employees who hadn't had a raise in years and had no expectation of that changing. Libraries don't pay well in general, but Mid-Continent is on the lower end of the scale. Additionally, the priorities of the upper executives have been changing in the last few years, from advocating "world class customer service" to pushing for ever-increasing self-check out numbers and shorter transaction times, and cutting staff to accommodate those goals. This has led to an enormous amount of pressure on staff members to do more work with less hands, and has caused tension among staff members and between staff and management.

    Continue reading
    Mid-Continent Public Library2015-02-11
  5. "Library Page"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Page in Lees Summit, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Low stress, flexible, good hours

    Cons

    Boring, tedious, disrespect, low pay

    Continue reading
    Mid-Continent Public Library2013-08-08
  6. "Friendly and Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Page in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really loved the people i worked with, great after school/summer job if you're in high school, very flexible hours

    Cons

    Mostly the patrons, but it comes with the territory. If you work in a public library, you're gonna deal with some weirdos.

    Mid-Continent Public Library2013-02-12
  7. "Working at MCPL is a great experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Page in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best reasons to work at Mid-Continent Public Library are the flexible hours, relaxed atmosphere, friendly people, and the knowledge you gain.

    Cons

    After working at Mid-Continent Public Library for nearly 2 years I would say that there were no cons, it was an entirely pleasurable experience.

    Mid-Continent Public Library2012-08-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews