Mid-Continent Public Library Reviews | Glassdoor

Mid-Continent Public Library Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
86%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Mid-Continent Public Library Library Director and CEO Steven Potter (no image)
Steven Potter
7 Ratings
  1. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Access Specialist II in Kansas City, MO
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mid-Continent Public Library full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most of the customers are delightful and respectful. Most of the co-workers are fabulous and caring. There is a trend toward a more empowered culture. The work is diverse, but not super difficult. There is opportunity for growth, but the highest paid positions definitely require a graduate degree. There are opportunities every day to improve lives and help people accomplish tasks.

    Cons

    Some of the customers are not pleasant. Branch Management is very slow to address personnel issues which leads to morale problems. and lessened confidence in the integrity of the organization. Communication is sometimes poor and misleading. Executive Management claim to have an "open door" policy, but when they stop by the Branch, they act like they don't know you or can't be bothered. There seems to be a disconnect between Executive Administration and employees on the front lines. There is a clique-ish culture which is very noticeable during in-service meetings and trainings. There is rampant sexism. It is assumed that women know nothing about I/T and mechanical things. Things that MCPL does to make employees feel valued often fall flat because while they give with one hand, they take away with the other. The benefits available for Benefits Eligible staff are fantastic--the wages for the worker bees are lower than market.

    Continue reading
    Mid-Continent Public Library2017-08-30
  2. "access specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, lots of training, very flexible hours, decent pay.

    Cons

    There are very few full-time jobs if that's what you want.

    Mid-Continent Public Library2017-02-06
  3. "Business Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Mid-Continent Public Library full-time

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers and bosses. Great work environment

    Cons

    12.68/hour, could be paid a little more

    Mid-Continent Public Library2016-12-06
  4. "Access Specialist I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most co-workers nice, adequate training

    Cons

    Corporate says it is an empowered culture - that employees are empowered to do what is best to provide good customer service but in reality there is very little latitude because there are processes and procedures for EVERYTHING and I have a coworker who loves to chide me if I go outside "the process" so it lowers my drive and therefore production.

    Continue reading
    Mid-Continent Public Library2016-11-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful place for part-timers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Assistant I in Independence, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    MCPL was a great place to work, I loved my co-workers, the patrons, and the day to day tasks.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, because of their flat corporate structure, which in many ways is a good thing, it eliminates most of the opportunities for advancement.

    Mid-Continent Public Library2016-04-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Very Unstable Place To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library for less than a year

    Pros

    Quiet place to work, holidays off, pretty good hours for the most part

    Cons

    We were in between branch manager most of the while I was working there. When I worked there, the branch manager that was there was talked about badly and it made me feel like they practically ran her out because she was black and the library staff there is for the most part white. When they finally found a new branch manager, she didn't like me from the get-go. She did everything possible to get rid of me, by cutting my hours so much that it was barely enough for gas money, considering it was 20 minutes from where I live. I finally resigned because I had enough of being the outcast there, and work with a library system that I worked with years ago that I absolutely loved and still love now.

    Continue reading
    Mid-Continent Public Library2015-04-29
  7. "This was a great part-time job during school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time

    Pros

    I got to read a lot of books! Very flexible boss. I got paid to help kids get excited about reading books, and do craft times and movie nights for kids in the community--what's not to like about that?

    Cons

    Upper management does not care about Libraries or people. Changes to make a library run like a business... LOTS of changes, not well communicated. The system systematically got rid of thousands of books in a few months....no sense of history or archival power of having old books. All to make room for 100 copies of the newsest best seller--and then to get ride of 90 of those copies in a year...

    Mid-Continent Public Library2015-04-18
  8. "Great people and environment, entry level positions excellent for students."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Page 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mid-Continent Public Library

    Pros

    Great coworkers, flexible hours, easy work

    Cons

    Low pay, repetitive work, limited advancement

    Continue reading
    Mid-Continent Public Library2015-03-21
  9. "Good people, iffy corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Page 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked at Mid-Continent as a page for a number of years. I loved my time there and left feeling very close to a lot of my coworkers. The hours were flexible and reasonable, the work was satisfying, and the library was very engaged in the community.

    Cons

    Mid-Continent pays their employees very poorly, especially considering the size of the system. I joined on right as the economy was tanking and budgets were getting slashed, so I can recognize how those factors contribute to wages. But there were full time employees who hadn't had a raise in years and had no expectation of that changing. Libraries don't pay well in general, but Mid-Continent is on the lower end of the scale. Additionally, the priorities of the upper executives have been changing in the last few years, from advocating "world class customer service" to pushing for ever-increasing self-check out numbers and shorter transaction times, and cutting staff to accommodate those goals. This has led to an enormous amount of pressure on staff members to do more work with less hands, and has caused tension among staff members and between staff and management.

    Continue reading
    Mid-Continent Public Library2015-02-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fun job, low pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Access Specialist II (Formerly "Librarian Assistant I") in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Mid-Continent Public Library part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The job is a lot of fun. The people are mostly wonderful.

    Cons

    A lot of the people who work here don't have the education or basic computer skills to be working in a library. Full-time jobs are few and far between. Nearly all of the positions are part time and the pay is VERY VERY LOW.

    Continue reading
    Mid-Continent Public Library2014-04-02
Found 40 reviews