MidAmerican Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

MidAmerican Energy Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
MidAmerican Energy CEO Adam Wright
Adam Wright
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, interesting projects, support from upper management(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great job security due; many employees have been with the Company for several decades(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Innovative Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Protection in Davenport, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MidAmerican Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Environment Supportive Peers Flexible Full- Time Schedule

    Cons

    Lots of Projects Pay Occasionally overly stressful

    MidAmerican Energy2018-08-12
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at MidAmerican Energy full-time

    Pros

    Salary, benefits and vacation were generous

    Cons

    Union employees were difficult to work with.

    MidAmerican Energy2019-04-15
  3. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Des Moines, IA

    I have been working at MidAmerican Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, work life balance, good atmosphere and great co-workers.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for advancement into the manager level.

    Advice to Management

    Give front line supervision the support to drive accountability down into the represented work force.

    MidAmerican Energy2019-02-12
  4. "Great benefits. Standard work week. May take awhile for promotion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Internal Auditor in Des Moines, IA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at MidAmerican Energy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The benefits from being a Berkshire Hathaway subsidiary are really nice.

      Cons

      Sometimes there is little or no work because of responses being delayed

      MidAmerican Energy2018-12-13
    • "The pay is ok."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Davenport, IA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at MidAmerican Energy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Hourly wage was decent and yearly bonuses are cool

      Cons

      Hours are not family friendly, environment is an ownership one with a lot of stress, health insurance is garbage with a high deductible,

      Advice to Management

      Create an environment in which your staff is valued and appreciated

      MidAmerican Energy2018-12-02
    • "Great Job!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Gas Journeyman in Des Moines, IA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at MidAmerican Energy full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good Pay!!good friends!! good people

      Cons

      Starve you at contract Time.

      MidAmerican Energy2018-05-04
    • Helpful (7)

      "Definitely not the company I started at 20 years ago."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at MidAmerican Energy full-time

      Pros

      None, environment has been sliding downwards.

      Cons

      "The beatings will continue until moral improves" Upper management thinks that cramming everyone into "open floorplans" is a benefit. I can't even hear myself think most days.

      Advice to Management

      There's not point arguing with someone who's compensation depends on them implementing or believing a falsehood.

      MidAmerican Energy2018-05-04
    • "A terrific company that has started to aggressively show evidence of committing to its employees and customers!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Scheduling Coordinator in Des Moines, IA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at MidAmerican Energy full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Committed to caring about its employees and providing the tools to do the job effectively and efficiently. It’s exciting to know that MidAmerican is rolling out a new campaign that entails both its employees and its customer. Without one you can’t provide the other and it’s a breath of fresh air to witness it happening. The benefits are pretty good, PTO for your first 5 years accrue up to over 200 hours. Health care...

      Show More

      Cons

      Departmental transparency is still challenging, but upper management has kicked off a pilot program on how different parts of the company work and how they work in the background to provide energy to our customers. Depending on the department, some have mentioned they’re understaffed for the work expected of them. Free Coke products are offered at corporate locations, but not everywhere. Something that I hope will make...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      It’s great to hear from our new president (in person) with him sharing his vision and goals. While difficult to do, I hope this is something he can make happen annually through all areas of MidAmerican. With new management taking over, I believe more internal improvements are to come. As a result of empowering its employees to provide excellent service for its customers.

      MidAmerican Energy2018-02-22
    • "Management unregulated side"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Management in Davenport, IA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at MidAmerican Energy full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good company at first then you make less money year after year in a sales capacity

      Cons

      Once you get in promotions never exist. Re evaluate quotas and commission plan. Lowest paying company in the industry

      Advice to Management

      Treat people with respect and dignity. The so called team environment doesn’t exist, please change. Listen to the forces in the field. Give direction of your vision rather then asking everyone their opinion. Upper management needs to communicate with the Sales force, and not act so arrogant

      MidAmerican Energy2018-03-20
    • "Gas and electric service"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at MidAmerican Energy full-time

      Pros

      Really liked the people. Great pay and benefits.

      Cons

      Work in all kinds of weather

      Advice to Management

      Different departments did not work well together. Always some guy trying to make your job harder

      MidAmerican Energy2017-12-28
    Found 79 reviews