MidSouth Bancorp Reviews | Glassdoor

MidSouth Bancorp Reviews

Updated May 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
22%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
MidSouth Bancorp CEO Rusty Cloutier
Rusty Cloutier
16 Ratings
  1. "My First Corprate Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in East Natchitoches, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MidSouth Bancorp

    Pros

    Fair Wages Shift Differential Pay Lots of Training Vacation Time

    Cons

    Micro Managers Lots of Emails Not a lot of bad things to say

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the Good Work

    MidSouth Bancorp2015-07-10
  2. "Personal opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Operations Program Administrator in Lafayette, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MidSouth Bancorp full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Co-workers are great! Employees are like family.

    Cons

    Needs more organization and communication

    Advice to Management

    Rusty and Troy Cloutier were a great loss to the company.

    MidSouth Bancorp2019-05-17
  3. "Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BSA Analyst in Mesquite, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MidSouth Bancorp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Someone always brings food to eat.

    Cons

    Focusing on work is difficult with unnecessary chatter.

    Advice to Management

    Guide managers to speak properly at work. No one should tolerate cursing at work. This manager is as moody as the Texas weather. Everyone was there to work. Not to listen about management personally issues, that do not pertain to work. Get a therapist they get paid to listen to mentally unstable people. This place is a lawsuit waiting to happen.

    MidSouth Bancorp2019-03-14
  4. "Stared great now it's just ok. Love the job description and helping customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Universal Banker II in Beaumont, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MidSouth Bancorp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No weekends No major holidays 8-5

    Cons

    Management and Corporate Headache Favortism

    Advice to Management

    More training and teamwork from corporate and back office departments.

    MidSouth Bancorp2018-05-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at MidSouth Bancorp full-time

      Pros

      I was lucky enough to have an awesome boss, who was great to work for and gave me flexibility in my schedule

      Cons

      antiquated policies and procedures make this place inefficient.

      Advice to Management

      Executive management should take a hard look at why certain policies and procedures are in place and revamp/update. Also, take a look at the quality of it's middle management as morale is weak here.

      MidSouth Bancorp2018-02-24
    • "Loan Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Loan Officer in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at MidSouth Bancorp full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay / Good Benefits / Professional Environment

      Cons

      Loan review is very extensive / They can be discriminatory against certain industries regardless past performance

      Advice to Management

      N/A

      MidSouth Bancorp2018-01-17
    • "Customer Service Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houma, LA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at MidSouth Bancorp for more than a year

      Pros

      You can do what you want. Management doesn't care.

      Cons

      No room for improvement. Very unfair place to work.

      Advice to Management

      Better management from the board of directors.

      MidSouth Bancorp2017-10-31
    • "Good Company to start with"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Universal Banker in Tyler, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at MidSouth Bancorp

      Pros

      No weekends and friendly coworkers

      Cons

      Pays below industry norm, very stressful

      Advice to Management

      Hire within the company

      MidSouth Bancorp2017-08-09
    • "Banker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Personal Banker 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at MidSouth Bancorp full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great hours, I personally have a great manager but others are not so lucky.

      Cons

      A huge divide between commercial and retail. Very antiquated systems, bloated upper management.

      MidSouth Bancorp2017-06-26
    • "Travel Unversial Banker 1"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Travel Universal Banker I in Lake Charles, LA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at MidSouth Bancorp full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      When I was able to travel meeting new people

      Cons

      limited career advancement. The people you work with have to be your best friend in order the advance and that could take years to do. Universal Bankers are TELLERS not BANKERS. You are going to spend all of your time as a teller. Training is horrible you are on your own. Benefits are expensive if your have one dependent ex. $250 per pay check you and one child.

      Advice to Management

      Promote and recognize people for their talents and not because they are your friend.

      MidSouth Bancorp2017-05-15
    Found 23 reviews