Midcounties Coop Reviews | Glassdoor

Midcounties Coop Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Midcounties Coop CEO Phil Ponsonby
Phil Ponsonby
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "Good staff appreciation model, however over-shadowed by poor over staff welfare(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "Granted you may go far in this company if you bow down and kiss the backsides of higher management(in 4 reviews)

  • "Senior management are all male and all white(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Highs and lows"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Manager in Walsall, England

    I worked at Midcounties Coop full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working in a team and in local communities.

    Cons

    Best to stay as a customer service advisor, rate of pay doesn't rise in line with increased responsibilities of supervisor/management roles.

    Midcounties Coop2019-08-18
  2. "Skills to last a lifetime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Midcounties Coop full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits (20% payday/Christmas discount)

    Cons

    Poor organisation, often understaffed, poor pay

    Midcounties Coop2019-08-07
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Stonehouse, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Midcounties Coop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers Friendly Management Colleague of the Month Awards Performance Reviews every 6 months with a manager

    Cons

    Poor Development Opportunities some rude customers

    Midcounties Coop2019-06-25
  4. "Childcare job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Room Manager in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Midcounties Coop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work as a teacher in a big company

    Cons

    You have to do a lot of overtime and you don’t have to much holiday and disapoiment to get them

    Midcounties Coop2019-05-01
  5. "Awful if you've got half a brain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Midcounties Coop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long breaks - 1 hour lunch and 2 15 min tea breaks Good dynamic between staff but very store dependent 10% off and 20% off on pay day weekend every month

    Cons

    Work hard and they expect more and more Very difficult to progress Constantly changing shifts Pitiful wages Management do nothing

    Advice to Management

    Actually do some work

    Midcounties Coop2019-04-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "The Phone Co op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Midcounties Coop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is nice and willing to help you with any question. From the start its been a pleasure from receiving my contract to induction.

    Cons

    For me going down to Oxford for a 3 hour induction seemed pointless nad i believe it could of been done another way.

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Midcounties Coop2019-03-14
  7. "Company in turmoil"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Midcounties Coop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff team I work with are friendly, we can have a good conversation. 20% discount on payday weekend

    Cons

    Chaos across all stores while they implement automatic scheduling of staff. Due to this, they made 1/3 of the staff in my already understaffed store redundant, leaving it 1 on 1 for 8 hours at a time, with the expectation all work will be completed to standards set for a full staff team (5-6 staff on shift). Failure to reach standards results in disciplinary action.

    Advice to Management

    Stop holding unachievable expectations upon your staff, accept that the Kronos Autoscheduler has causes irreparable damage to both store performance, as well as staff moral, and above all, treat your staff fairly and with respect.

    Midcounties Coop2019-04-13
  8. "Summary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Midcounties Coop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Money Office Supplier visit Samples

    Cons

    Very clicky and face had to fit

    Advice to Management

    Be professional and not appreciate efforts.

    Midcounties Coop2019-02-23
  9. "CSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Midcounties Coop part-time

    Pros

    Fairly easy job to do

    Cons

    Understaffed a lot of the time so your workload is increased

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people, stop employing inadequate staff

    Midcounties Coop2019-01-08
  10. "Customer Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Midcounties Coop

    Pros

    The only good thing about this company is the staff discount.

    Cons

    No opportunity to progress within the company unless you’re best friends with higher management. The pay is terrible when you compare it to other companies. No weekends, and long hours. Management constantly on your case which makes it very stressful. Staff turnover is shocking, people constantly coming and going.

    Midcounties Coop2019-01-18
Found 59 reviews